Laughter is the best medicine, but if you laugh for no reason, you need medicine.

I have heard more fake laughter this week than I have in a long time…so I am grateful for people who don’t fake their happiness but heartily laugh when something is funny or makes them happy.

I am grateful for the beauty of geese flying in formation, and for their silly honks.

I am grateful for a boss who offers to buy us breakfast from the deli.

I am grateful for the caramel longjohn left on the counter for me this morning.

I am grateful for a devotion this morning that reminded me to not be ashamed of Who I believe and trust, but to proclaim to the world that Jesus is why we should be celebrating Christmas. My life verse says it all:  I will speak of Thy testimonies before kings and will not be ashamed. – Psalm 119:46

I am grateful for long lines in the drive-thru that prompt me to go inside to get my iced tea, because this morning, a young lady named Melonie was at the register and was shy and to the point, but after I said “thank you for the styrofoam cup,” she looked me in the eye, HELD EYE CONTACT, and said, “I hope you have a Merry Christmas.” And I believed she meant it.  It’s rare to have prolonged eye contact these days with service industry workers, and she made my day.

A sense of humor… is needed armor.
Joy in one’s heart and some laughter on one’s lips is a sign that the person down deep has a pretty good grasp of life.
– Hugh Sidey

I am grateful for another Good Morning America video that made me smile before leaving for work this morning, and it was right down my Christmas alley:

Peanuts Christmas Flash Mob

Which reminds me that I am grateful for a minute of enjoyment last night in the CVS Pharmacy to push the little button on the stuffed Linus character and listen to him recite a bit of the Christmas story. If he hadn’t been so expensive, he would have been a splurge purchase.

I am grateful for a very nice Christmas/congratulations letter from my brother Ron.


Holding on to anger, resentment and hurt only gives you tense muscles,
a headache and a sore jaw from clenching your teeth.
Forgiveness gives you back the laughter and the lightness in your life.

– Joan Lunden

I am grateful for a very comfortable home that keeps me warm during a winter storm.

And I am grateful for this song, and for memories of Karissa singing it. It is one of my all-time Christmas favorites:

Jesus, Born on This Day


Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face. – Victor Hugo

Leave a Reply

