A bitter spirit is a poor companion for a renewed heart. – Charles Spurgeon

 

Trust the past to God’s mercy, the present to God’s love, and the future to God’s providence. – Augustine

 

I am grateful for the opportunity to pray for an adopted grandchild to get to know and love this next year. Maybe, just maybe, God will allow.

I am grateful for the beauty of a swarm of black birds.

 

I am grateful for time spent with Dad and Dwight over the weekend.

I am grateful for a job to go to every day so that I do not have the opportunity to put myself into a fetal position and wallow in self-pity on these types of days.

I am grateful for the simple pleasure of counting jet trails at sunset.

 

I am grateful for a phone call from Katrina last night and grateful that she allowed me to hear Parker and Reilly’s voices.

I am grateful for the handful of Christmas cards we received over the weekend.

I am grateful for the beautiful surprise of seeing Delores on Friday evening.

I am grateful for the simple phrase, “Get over it,” that we heard from Joel Osteen on Sunday morning while getting ready for church. 

I am grateful for this simple message that went along with his three word phrase:  A bitter root produces bitter fruit.

 

Your future is not bigger than God, nor are your limitations larger than His grace.
Your faith in Him means your future is with Him.

 

I am grateful for memories of Delores and Mom collecting miniatures for their boxes.

 

I am grateful for the character trait I inherited from Mom – the strong desire to be needed.

I am grateful for this funny youtube video that Dwight shared with us on Friday evening:

Old MacDonald Had a Deformed Farm

I am grateful to have seen my Dad in a new sweater. 

I am grateful that I have an outlet to be grateful so that the bitter root within dies and I can work on getting over it and live the message of Romans 12.

And I am grateful for a new macaroni and cheese recipe that was very, very good, if I say so myself:

 

Macaroni and Cheese

1 16 oz. package of macaroni noodles, cooked in salt water

At least a pound of medium cheddar cheese

About half a pound of muenster

1 pint of heavy whipping cream

3 eggs, beaten up in the whipping cream

About 1/2 stick of butter (butter is better than margarine)

Boil the macaroni until tender. Taste it and if it’s too salty, just rinse the noodles under running water in a colander.

Melt a couple of tablespoons of butter in the bottom of a large casserole dish, and put one layer of noodles in. Layer about half the cheddar and muenster and a few pats of butter on top. Then add another layer of noodles, more cheese, and a few more pats of butter. Mix the eggs in the whipping cream and pour it over the entire casserole. Dot with any additional butter on top.

Bake uncovered at 375 for about 20 minutes. Check to see if it’s done by sliding the back of a spoon down one side of the casserole. It should be congealed, not runny at all. If it’s still runny, continue to bake and check every 5 minutes until you get that custardy consistency. Serve it hot because it’s not nearly as good if you let the cheese cool too much.

 
Romans 12:14-21, New Living Translation

14 Bless those who persecute you. Don’t curse them; pray that God will bless them. 15 Be happy with those who are happy, and weep with those who weep. 16 Live in harmony with each other. Don’t be too proud to enjoy the company of ordinary people. And don’t think you know it all!

17 Never pay back evil with more evil. Do things in such a way that everyone can see you are honorable. 18 Do all that you can to live in peace with everyone.

19 Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say,

“I will take revenge;
    I will pay them back,”
    says the Lord.

20 Instead,

“If your enemies are hungry, feed them.
    If they are thirsty, give them something to drink.
In doing this, you will heap
    burning coals of shame on their heads.”

21 Don’t let evil conquer you, but conquer evil by doing good.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

