When it’s dark enough, you can see the stars.

 

2014. January. A new year.

I began this day thanking God for a sense of hope.

I am grateful for three little boys who enriched the last few hours of 2013 and filled our home with laughter and silliness.

I am grateful for a sister and her family who chose to spend the last hour of 2013 with us, playing the noun game and filling our home with laughter and silliness.

I am grateful for Angela’s wacky ideas to throw a glass of water out the back door to wash away the bad from 2013, to jump off the ledge in the back yard to “leap” into the new year, to eat 12 grapes and make a wish with each one, and to bang pots and pans outside…fortunately, they did THAT at their house instead of ours.

I am grateful to have seen Ratatouille and E.T. last night with the boys, relaxing and enjoying the best movie ever.

 

I am grateful to have the privilege of starting today with pancakes and bacon while watching “Up” with two mesmerized boys while the other one sleeps in the basement.

I am grateful for two little wrens who began 2014 with a song and shared it with us.

I am grateful for little boys who wear footy pajamas.

I am grateful for the opportunity to try again. And again. And again.

I am grateful that Mom kept photo albums.

I am grateful for the warmth of the sun on my face.

This movie makes me cry. (my “squirrel!” moment…)

 

I am grateful for the stars that were so bright last night/this morning.  I love the beauty of the night sky.

And finally, I am grateful for lots of pillows and blankets to make a huge bed/pit/fort in the basement.

One thought on “When it’s dark enough, you can see the stars.

  1. That was sooo much FUN! Thanks for letting us crash your party. Looking forward to the weekend – and many more game nights in 2014.

Leave a Reply

