Life is like a blanket of snow. Be careful how you step on it – every step will show.

I am grateful for memories of Karissa and Katrina bundled up outside at Grandma and Grandpa’s, making a snowman.

 

I am grateful for the world I grew up in. I am grateful that I had such respect and fear for my parents. It didn’t take much to keep us kids in line, and Mom was a master at it. 

When I was little, “I’m gonna tell your Mom” was the scariest sentence ever.

Her angry face and her spankings and soap in the mouth didn’t happen often, but when they did, they were certainly enough. And Dad…I don’t know what it was, maybe his quiet demeanor that just commanded respect, but all he had to do was look at me sternly, and I was jello.

I am grateful for a heated chair massager that Zak gave to me when they were packing to move. It sure does make my sore tailbone feel a little better this morning while I sit here at work.

 

 

I am grateful for a sharp knife that Dad let me borrow – I’m sorry I forgot to return it! It’s an excuse to visit again.

I am grateful for apples and oranges to eat today. No more sugar snacks, and as soon as it gets back into at least the 20’s, we’re going to be back to walking daily. I am grateful that it’s too cold to walk right now, though. My tailbone would cry.

I am grateful for Sam – I lay down on the couch last night to read, and he came in and covered me with blankets. And, he got up at 4:30 after discovering a frozen pipe in the basement and finally got it thawed out, three hours later… I think he just wanted a new excuse for a drywall project to work on this winter. 

I am grateful for bandaids.

 

I am grateful for mailmen who are working today in spite of the cold weather, and grateful that the garbage collectors don’t have to work today – at least not outdoors.

I am grateful for memories of Karissa and Katrina making snow angels.

 

And I am grateful for these eight goals for 2014 that were a part of my morning devotions:

Care more for others than myself.
Quit wanting what I don’t have. 
Rejoice in what I do have.
Stop bragging/boasting & don’t revel in the failures of others.
Don’t keep score of the wrongs of others.
Quit looking back.
Look for the best in others & myself.
Trust God.  Always.

Some are easier read than done.

Leave a Reply

