Eating celery burns more calories than not eating it.

I am grateful that my brother takes pictures and doesn’t mind if I steal them to put in my grateful. Thank you, Dwight, for taking pictures of Mom and Dad.

I am grateful for celery.

I am grateful for time spent with friends last night during dinner.

I am grateful for Caring Bridge. Although I haven’t gained enough strength to go back and re-read all of the entries from last year, I am glad that it is there when I am ready.

CaringBridge/GraceFerguson 

I am grateful for the most comfortable shoes ever invented that I’ve had for four years – Clarks unstructured. If I could wear them every single day, I would. I just wish they were pretty to look at.

 

I am grateful for a return to “fast days,” which means 500 calories or less on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I am grateful for the pictures I have of five of my grandchildren. Possessions are just possessions, but these are prized.

I am grateful that I receive a salary, and I’m even more grateful it is not based on commission. A salesman, I am not.

I am grateful for Rachel even though she usually eats all of the celery and strawberries and bacon and leaves none for the rest of us.

I am grateful for shaved legs. On me.

I am grateful for another of the 21st century great inventions: pretzel bites with peanut butter inside, the Bingo prizes for tonight.

I am grateful for memories of so many people coming to the apartment last year at this time to see Mom one more time and offer support and comfort for the rest of us.

I am grateful for this passage of scripture:

And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord. – Romans 8:38-39

I am grateful for this song that turned the five minute car ride home yesterday into a worship service. It’s a link, so click on it and listen:

Losing – Tenth Avenue North

I can’t believe what she said, I can’t believe what he did
Oh, don’t they know it’s wrong, don’t they know it’s wrong, yeah?
Maybe there’s something I missed but how could they treat me like this?
It’s wearing out my heart the way they disregard

This is love, this is hate…we all have a choice to make

Oh, Father won’t You forgive them?
They don’t know what they’ve been doin’
Oh, Father, give me grace to forgive them
‘Cause I feel like the one losin’

Well it’s only the dead that can live but still I wrestle with this
To lose the pain that’s mine seventy times seven times
‘Cause Lord it doesn’t feel right for me to turn a blind eye
Though I guess it’s not that much when I think of what You’ve done.

This is love, this is hate…we’ve got a choice to make

Why do we think that hate’s gonna change their heart?
We’re up in arms over wars that don’t need to be fought
But pride won’t let us lay our weapons on the ground
We build our bridges up but just to burn them down
We think pain is owed apologies and then it’ll stop
But truth be told it doesn’t matter if they’re sorry or not
Freedom comes when we surrender to the sound
Of mercy and Your grace, Father, send Your angels down

I am grateful that I am capable of pretending each celery bite is a pretzel filled with peanut butter.

And I am grateful for hunger pains and stomach growls, because it means I’m shrinking by the micrometer.

Leave a Reply

