You can’t live a perfect day without doing something for someone who will never be able to repay you. – John Wooden

 

 

 

Image

I am grateful for a snow day…I think. Yes, I am. My back is sore, my nose is running, and I can’t feel my toes, but the driveway is now cleared, and I can sit down and enjoy the sunny afternoon and the sparkle that is all over the back yard covered in white diamonds. I cleared a path to the bird feeder and it is filled so the chickadees and cardinals don’t have to sit on the branch wondering when lunch is coming. And, to top it all off, a stranger came and blessed me.

Image

His name is Mark. He was hired by a neighbor to clear their driveway. While I was out shoveling, he was pushing his snowblower in the drive across the street. I am sure he saw me stop several times to catch my breath and rest. After about an hour, he finished up and had loaded his snowblower in the back of his company truck. And then he walked over with a shovel and asked if I would like some help. I had decided that if ANYONE walked or drove by and offered assistance, I wasn’t going to turn them down, but I wouldn’t seek out any help. Besides, it’s wonderful exercise and I had already cleared the drive twice yesterday afternoon. However, he offered, and I said, “I would LOVE some help.” He looked at the huge drift in the middle of the drive and saw that it was going to take a little more work, so he went and got his snowblower and finished the drive for me.  When I ran after him in the street to pay him, he said he couldn’t take any money. I pleaded with him, and his response was this: “I wake up every morning and thank God for another day. And then I ask Him to send someone my way to help. If I took your money, it would take away my gift. Use that money to help someone else.”

I asked him what church he attends, and he shrugged the question off, as if to say that the church had nothing to do with it, and then told me he is Catholic and attends Prince of Peace. And that is all I know of this man. 

I am grateful that I have the ability, the desire, and the freedom to shovel a driveway.

I am grateful that there was a really nice man who saw a woman shoveling a big driveway and wanted to help, just because.

I am grateful for Mark today. God, please bless this man who blessed someone else in Your Name, and give me the opportunity to do the same for someone else today.

 

 

One thought on “You can’t live a perfect day without doing something for someone who will never be able to repay you. – John Wooden

  1. you know that is something Dwight would do and say. I have heard him many times say those words…pay it forward…. and he does

Leave a Reply

