Failure is not fatal, but failure to change might be. – John Wooden

 

Image

 

 

I am grateful for the dogs that have been a part of my life over the years. Thanks for sending the picture to me, Lisa.

I am grateful for my boss today. Every day, but especially today.

Thinking about my boss… My bosses love dogs. Love dogs so much they had to breed one of their Samoyeds. Love dogs so much they had to keep one of the puppies. It is daily drama, this puppy and the raising of it. I am grateful that we do not have a puppy.

I am grateful for a desk calendar that Michelle gave to me.

I am grateful for an email from Karissa. A long-awaited wonderful answer to my prayer.

I am grateful for Avis. Last night, she was wearing a KU t-shirt during Bingo, and of course, we had to give her a hard time, since K State was playing. She left in a big hurry as soon as blackout was done. And when we were almost to the door, ready to leave, she came speed-walking down the hall to show us why she had left so suddenly:

2014-02-25_19-16-15_959

 

Gotta love Avis.

I am grateful for the Cheezits that Rob and Shirley sent to me – they are a wonderful lunch today.

I am grateful that God can use all of my failures.

I am grateful that God doesn’t show me the whole trip, just one little step at a time. He doesn’t show me the whole picture, just one pixel at a time. He doesn’t serve the entire meal, just one course at a time. Makes life much more interesting, and it allows me to grow a little every day.

I am grateful that it was too cold to walk this morning.

I am grateful for the smell of walnut wood.

And I am grateful for the messages from two of my devotions this morning:

When we experience failure – or any kind of affliction – we focus on what is seen; we focus on the moment. But God is at work in us doing the unseen – shaping our character into the image of Jesus Christ (Romans 8:28-29). Only the Christian can be confident that God is going to use failure for a deep purpose in his life.

If you regret a failure in your life, thank God for the unseen work He is doing in you today.

Whenever you find yourself worrying about the future, repent and return to Me. I will show you the next step forward, and the one after that, and the one after that. Relax and enjoy the journey in My Presence, trusting Me to open up the way before you as you go.

Leave a Reply

