If you don’t like where you are, then change it. You are not a tree.

I am grateful for my devotion this morning about change. I would share it, but I forgot my book at home.  But it was based on 2 Corinthians 3:18…and such a good message about how we should always be in the process of change, never satisfied to remain as we are.

I am grateful that my Mom taught me to clean house.

I love Staples Advantage. I just got a free flash drive, because they sent the wrong one in our order. When I spoke with my account rep, he told me to keep it and he would have the correct item delivered today.  I am grateful for Staples, and for Pernelius, my account rep. What a great name.

I am grateful for my counselor and her soft-spoken wisdom that hits the bullseye.

I am grateful for chips and salsa.

Today is my brother’s birthday. I am grateful for Ron. I always wanted to be just like him when I grew up. He was always the smartest person I knew, and after speaking with him, a person feels more intelligent, like you’ve just been to school. He is a great example of a servant, spending years in Africa with MCC, both he and Pam living on next-to-nothing and being happy about it, and pastoring churches here in the US — such a true example of the word “pastor.” Their family is their congregation, and they take such good care. Ron is a caretaker, not only of his congregation, but of the earth, and of his community.  He and Pam are responsible for a community food bank that has grown and is such a big part of their lives now, in addition to their many responsibilities at their church. Memories of Ron include the day he drove home in his “new” car, a Datsun 240Z. I was so impressed – my brother had a sports car; riding on the train to Dodge City in the night, all by myself, to spend a week with Ron and Pam in Fowler; and getting letters on that crinkly airmail paper all the way from Africa. We’d save those letters and collect the cool stamps. I’ve never known a man who wrote by hand all of his letters, LONG letters, but Ron always has. It’s a lost art.  Happy birthday, Ronald Jay. You deserve God’s blessings, over and over and over again.

 

One thought on “If you don’t like where you are, then change it. You are not a tree.

Leave a Reply

