It’s a new day. Begin again. Appreciate what you have before it turns into what you had.

 

I am grateful for the hearing that I have left after last night. We went to my niece’s last home basketball game against their rival school. Two all-girls’ schools. Rivals. Broadcast live on local TV with cameras panning the student sections. Did I say two all girls’ schools?! I’ve not heard that much high-pitched screaming/yelling/squealing in…forever. Add the extremely loud music, and it was pure pain to the eardrums. However, I am grateful for the opportunity to see Rachel play. Next time, Formula 1 racing earplugs.

I am grateful for a long conversation with Karissa yesterday and LOTS of pictures of my beautiful grandchildren that she sent to me. It was so healing to hear her voice, and she sounded so good.

Image    Image

 

I am grateful for a surprise visit this morning in the office from Sam.

I am grateful for a really good haircut.

I am grateful for another weekend of snow to anticipate. All too soon, there will be complaints about the heat and the humidity, so I will choose to enjoy the cold and the snow and the opportunities for a roaring fire and soft blankets and sweaters to wear.

I am grateful for a portrait of THE honking tree on K-96 that Dwight took for us. It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. This is not the picture he took – but it IS the honking tree.

 

Image

 

 

And I am grateful for my devotion from Dad’s book this morning. One of my favorite scriptures is Lamentations 3:22-23: 

The faithful love of the Lord never ends!
    His mercies never cease.
Great is His faithfulness;
     His mercies begin afresh each morning.

I love how this devotion weaves it into a lesson on my failures in this life:

 

Sir Winston Churchill, the legendary politician and statesman known for his leadership of the United Kingdom during the second World War, once said, “Continuous effort – not strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential.” We can’t rest on our victories, neither can we wallow in our defeats. Everyone occasionally fails, and sometimes our failures can demoralize us. But even in failure there are benefits to be gained and progress to be made. Some lessons can only be learned in failure, and a day is never lost if a lesson is learned. 

God can do more with our failures than the world can do with our successes. Failure is often the back door to success if we persevere. Basketball great Michael Jordan understood this. He once said, “Failure always made me try harder next time.”

As we encounter our ups and downs, it’s helpful to remember that God never fails and that His mercy never ceases. His compassions fail not; they are new every morning. If you’re brooding over a failure today, place it in Christ’s hands. He can turn it for good.

Success consists of going from failure to failure without the loss of enthusiasm. – Winston Churchill

 

 

Leave a Reply

