All that and a bag o’ chips

 

It’s that kind of day.

 

 

I am grateful that I do not have cat or dog hair all over my clothes.

I am grateful for the sound of my Dad crunching potato chips. I love that sound. People could crunch potato chips around me all day long, as long as they share and then keep their mouths closed to finish the eating.

I am grateful for parents who trained their sons to open doors for women of any age. With that said, I am so appalled at the 20-30+ year old professional men in this office building who walk in front of women as we enter the building, no more than 10 feet away, and they are oblivious to the fact that we are right behind them. Thank you, moms and dads, who taught your sons back in the 50’s and 60’s to be gentlemen. And thank you, moms and dads who are raising sons to be gentlemen right now. I know, this is more of a gripe than a grateful. No, this is finding something to be grateful for in the middle of a gripe. 

I am grateful for Elizabeth. I miss her. I miss our South Texas days. I just saw a woman walk in to the building who looks like her, and it’s funny – on Sunday, there was a lady in the choir at church who I had not seen previously, and she could have been Elizabeth’s Mom. Elizabeth, you are on my mind this week.

 

I am grateful for my son-in-law Zak. I’m not only grateful, I am very proud of him. Today is a big day. He is the director of Central Oregon Youth for Christ, and tonight is the annual fundraising banquet. He and Katrina took a huge leap of faith last summer and moved their family across the country in order to live a dream and serve God in a new capacity, and this is very much out of his comfort zone, I think, to be in charge of planning and pulling off a banquet/silent auction. AND, he is the special speaker as the new director.  I just know God is going to bless him and the organization for his hard work, his dream to reach marginal kids, and their leap of faith.

 

I am grateful for memories of Anissa asking for a snack – a little cup of Pringles chips. I can still hear her saying, “Chips, please!” with her ornery grin.

 

I am grateful for boxes of animal crackers. It was such a treat and a rare occasion to sit in the shopping cart and have Mom surprise me with a box to eat.  I always thought it was so special to carry my box of animal crackers by its string handle.

 

 

I am grateful for a toothbrush and toothpaste, and I’m glad I don’t have to brush my teeth with my finger or with salt. Although as much as I love salt, that wouldn’t be so bad. It would be better if the toothbrush was a french-fry and the toothpaste was salt. That would be okay.

I am grateful that Sam does laundry. Sitting around the conference room table listening to the stories made me very grateful Sam does laundry.

And I am grateful that I only gave up french fries and pop and not potato chips in January 2013.

Leave a Reply

