Well, grease the pole!

 

It’s a good life.

I am grateful for grease on the pole.  Last night at Bingo, I shared our squirrel dilemma with the group, and when I told them that I was going to have to bring the bird feeders down off the pole, Louene piped up and said, “Well, grease the pole!” She had learned this trick from her quilting ladies. So, this morning, we didn’t have grease or Crisco, but we did have some vegetable  oil, so I rubbed some up and down the metal pole and before I left for work, I was entertained by a very unique circus! Two squirrels were attempting to reach the feeders and would get halfway up the pole, only to slide right back down. And then they would scamper across the patio like a cat with scotch tape on its paws! “What is on my feet?!”

It was such a funny, fun beginning to my day, and I loved finally getting one over them!

 

 

I am grateful for the smell of my shampoo and conditioner, fresh-baked bread, diesel, frying bacon, a hardware store, musk, a clean baby, the wafting scent of just fried French fries as we walk by Wendy’s, a big fat poster marker, and clothes that have been dried with dryer sheets.

 

I am grateful for the simple goodness of an egg for breakfast.

I am grateful for six pounds gone.

And I am grateful that even though there are so many awful things happening in this world, and so many issues that seem to divide those I love and care about, I can rest on the fact that I’m just temporarily here, this is not home, and I don’t have to be the judge and jury. It’s all out of my hands, and I have peace knowing that I belong to the King, and one day soon, He’ll take me HOME home.

 

I belong to the King; I’m a child of His love,
I shall dwell in His palace so fair,
For He tells of its bliss in yon Heaven above,
And His children in splendor shall share.

I belong to the King; I’m a child of His love,
And he never forsaketh His own.
He will call me some day to His palace above;
I shall dwell by His glorified throne.

I belong to the King, and He loves me I know,
For His mercy and kindness so free
Are unceasingly mine wheresoever I go,
And my refuge unfailing is He.

I belong to the King, and His promise is sure:
That we all shall be gathered at last
In His kingdom above, by life’s waters so pure,
When this life with its trials is past.

Leave a Reply

