Stop it, Joey!

I am grateful for ice cubes.

 

 

I am grateful for doors on bathroom stalls in women’s restrooms. These are a luxury I take for granted on a daily basis. However, even though they provide wonderful privacy among sane and respectful adults, a door on a stall does not prevent children from curiosity. I will never forget being in a public restroom with Amanda and Nanette, and a not-so-little boy about 6-7 years old decided to peek into the stalls. I was MORTIFIED. And his less-than-strict Mom just nonchalantly said, “Stop it, Joey.” I wanted to SCREAM. Amanda and I got the biggest kick out of the incident for so long afterwards and would “peek” into the spaces of the doors every time either of us happened to be on the other side, just so we could hear the other one say, “Stop it, Joey!” I miss Amanda and Nanette.

 

 

I am grateful for flannel pajama pants.

 

This is the day that I have made. Rejoice and be glad in it. Begin the day with open hands of faith, ready to receive all that I am pouring into this brief portion on your life. Be careful not to complain about anything, even the weather, since I am the Author of your circumstances. The best way to handle unwanted situations is to thank Me for them. This act of faith frees you from resentment and frees Me to work My ways into the situation, so that good emerges from it.

To find Joy in this day, you must live within its boundaries. I knew what I was doing when I divided time into twenty-four hour segments. I understand human frailty, and I know that you can bear the weight of only one day at a time. Do not worry about tomorrow or get stuck in the past. There is abundant Life in My Presence today.

 

I am grateful for my mid-morning snack  and the unexpected pleasure of unsalted peanuts and celery, together, that gives just a hint of celery/peanut butter taste, which spurred wonderful memories of lunchtime at CBA.

And I am grateful (allow me one of these to just childishly imagine this), that Mom now has a squirrel from our backyard to play with in Heaven.

 

Leave a Reply

