DO something.

 

I am grateful for yesterday’s scripture that was in my desk calendar from Michelle, another reminder and apparently a lesson I am still needing to learn, since Dwight’s email was also about this very topic:

Keep on sowing your seed, for you never know which will grow – perhaps it all will.  – Ecclesiastes 11:6 TLB

 

 

I am grateful for quiet time this morning, listening to the orchestra of rain and thunder – it was a wonderful wake-up.

I am grateful to have watched the rain from the front door and see earthworms creating a maze to walk through, all across the sidewalk.

I am grateful for soft classical music playing while we sat at the island eating Cream of Wheat in the early morning before heading out for work. I love this time of the day, and I am so grateful I no longer sleep it away.

I am grateful for Cream of Wheat.

 

I am grateful that Mary shared a saying with me this morning:  “Children are often spoiled because no one will spank Grandma.” I want to be that kind of Ama.

I am grateful to have had lunch with Joyce today at Frida’s. Yummmmmmm.

I am grateful to be privileged enough to spend an hour each week with a group of incredible people who fill a void in my life and allow me to remember Mom by playing Bingo. They all bring me so much joy…

 

I am grateful for a sauce pan that was Mom’s, and before that, it was Ruth’s. It’s the nicest sauce pan I have, and every time I use it, I think of these two women who had a huge impact on my life.

I am grateful for “our churches” in Munfordville, Adrian, Plymouth, Albert Lea, and Moorhead. And, of course, COR.

I am grateful for Geri. I have the best friends in the world.

 

Today’s desk calendar entry: “It is an awesome, challenging thought: The Lord comes to us in our friends. What we do and are to them is an expression of what we are to Him.” – Lloyd John Ogilvie

 

I am grateful for memories of Mom singing, “Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, I’m goin’ out to eat worms. Big, fat, juicy ones, little tiny, skinny ones, I’m goin’ out to eat worms…”

I am grateful that Karissa just sent these pictures to me:

Mom and Karissa

Mom and Andrae

I can just imagine how Anissa and Andrae would have loved singing the worm song with GG…

 

I am grateful that I will meet my CASA child next week. I am nervous and so excited to begin this new adventure.

I am grateful for the opportunity to meet new neighbors last night and share cookies with them after our walk.

I am grateful that I will be able to spend Father’s Day with my Dad.

And I am grateful for this song today (click on the title):

DO Something.

by Matthew West

I woke up this morning saw a world full of trouble now
Thought, how’d we ever get so far down, how’s it ever gonna turn around
So I turned my eyes to Heaven, I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”
Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of people living in poverty
Children sold into slavery, the thought disgusted me
So, I shook my fist at Heaven, said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you.”

If not us, then who, if not me and you
Right now, it’s time for us to do something,
If not now, then when will we see an end to all this pain
It’s not enough to do nothing, it’s time for us to do something

I’m so tired of talking about how we are God’s hands and feet
But it’s easier to say than to be,
Live like angels of apathy who tell ourselves it’s alright, “Somebody else will do something.”
Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m sick and tired of life with no desire
I don’t want a flame, I want a fire.
I wanna be the one who stands up and says, “I’m gonna do something.”

Leave a Reply

