Happily ever laughter.

 

 

I am grateful for the very happy cardinal that sang to us on our walk this morning.

I am grateful for six growing bunnies who are now gaining independence.

ImageImage

 

I am grateful that tonight is Bingo night and I get to see my friends at The Gables.

I am grateful for a bed that is “made” every morning. Okay, looking at that, “made” is a very odd word. Where in the world did that phrase come from? Make a bed. Making a bed. We don’t make a bed every time we make the bed. We smooth out the sheets, adjust the covers, straighten the pillows, pull up the sheets. We don’t MAKE a bed. That was the privilege of the manufacturer. I’m done now. On to the next. (I’m still grateful that the bed is made every morning so that it is a beautiful spot to look at and rest our head when we retire each evening.)

 

 

I am grateful for the moments each day to play the piano. I am also grateful that those moments are in solitude because God doesn’t mind my mistakes.

I am grateful to finally have a picture of “Cari” in my head. I received my case yesterday, and I saw her “mug shot” that was taken when she was arrested. I’m officially on a case. I have two weeks to meet her and gather as much information as I can for my first report. I am excited and scared all at the same time. This girl will be forever in my life now, and she doesn’t even know it yet.

I am grateful for an inbox full of videos from Karissa, the latest of a squirmy, bath-loving granddaughter, and Karissa’s most recent solo at church.

I am grateful for a short email from Katrina.

I am grateful for the arrival of AC in the house. We made it to June 16, but Sam could see last night that I was kind of miserable in the humidity, so he shut the windows and broke down. Thank you, Sam. I will try to be a more enjoyable dinner companion tonight.

I am grateful for the opportunity to make a connection with a Hutchinson family who is unexpectedly stuck in KC because of a tragic accident that left their daughter seriously injured. I am grateful that my Dad asked us to visit the family at the hospital. 

I am grateful for my devotion this morning: 

Learn to laugh at yourself more freely. Don’t take yourself or your circumstances so seriously. Relax and know that I am God with you. When you desire My will above all else, life becomes much less threatening. Stop trying to monitor My responsibilities – things that are beyond your control. Find freedom in by accepting the boundaries of your domain.

Laughter lightens your load and lifts your heart into heavenly places. Your laughter rises to heaven and blends with angels melodies of praise. Just as parents delight in the laughter of their children, so I delight in hearing My children laugh. I rejoice when you trust Me enough to enjoy your life lightheartedly.

Do not miss the Joy of My Presence by carrying the weight of the world on your shoulders. Rather, take My yoke upon you and learn from Me. My yoke is comfortable and pleasant; My burden is light and easily borne.

 

 

 

I am grateful for people who make me laugh when I am determined to not smile.

I am grateful for a stomach ache from laughing so hard.

I am grateful for the silliness when I get so tickled at the most inappropriate time. I used to not be grateful AT ALL when my students did this in the middle of a song. Funny how it depends on your perspective…

I am grateful for random things and people that initiate laughter:  a former student Spencer Huiatt (hey, that rhymes), Deb‘s laugh, my favorite comedian John Pinette, watching Mandrae and Karissa’s “reality show,” Reilly’s squeal, Andrae’s eyebrows and shoes on the wrong feet, Anissa riding her bike really fast, Parker’s funny faces when taking selfies with my camera phone, Shirley’s deadpan responses to students in the CCHS library, my dad’s jokes, Modern Family episodes, little ones who say the funniest things while being so serious, Katrina’s “hullo” when she used to answer the phone, dogs who hang out of car windows or sit in the passenger seat like a human, Anjalie’s giggle, family reunion stories, listening to banter between Rachel and John, or Rachel and her dad, or Rachel and her mom, or Rachel and anyone, Sam’s redneck characters, Natia the Italian greyhound, funny people in WalMart or the grocery store who make me shake my head in disbelief, my boss when he is slightly inebriated from Friday wine, catty/flirty/crotchety Bingo-playing ladies who still act like they are in junior high, and Ginny’s “stink, stank, stunk” outbursts in the middle of a quiet workday.

 

One thought on “Happily ever laughter.

  1. Another cheer producing bright spot in my day! Thanks for the visions of God’s ever-present grace. Praying for you and Sam and all the wonder of serendipitous moments of life!

Leave a Reply

