Play with a child today, and if you can’t, play LIKE a child today.

 

 

Beautiful pictures of happy children playing

 

I am grateful for dental floss, especially when used in the privacy of a bathroom.

I am grateful for Charles Schulz.

I am grateful for the smell of rubber cement and libraries and beauty salons and Karissa’s room spray and her liquid soap that smells like peppermint and vanilla.

I am grateful for monkeys. The animals AND the humans – they all make me laugh.

 

 

I am grateful for Louene’s attitude – she is my 99 year old Bingo friend. She lost her only child a few years ago, has lived in assisted living for several years now, and still finds a reason to smile and enjoy life. As she shared with me last night, how else is she going to spend her time? There is ALWAYS some reason to smile and enjoy the present.

I am grateful for how easily a band-aid fixes the world’s problems when you are a child.

 

I am grateful for podiatrists and the absence of ingrown toenails. Thank you, Dr. Coleman, for those procedures 33 years ago. So worth the agony of shots in the toe. I am grateful for my Dad who went with me and let me squeeze his hand till it turned blue.

I am grateful for cute underwear for children – my biggest thrill was to have plain but pretty pastel undies with a little lacey elastic at the top. Now, my granddaughters proudly wear Hello Kitty and Frozen, and my grandson wears Spiderman and sports. How lucky can you get these days.

 

I am grateful that my two oldest Texas grandchildren, ages 4 and 2, learned their address this past weekend and Mommy is keeping up their practice of saying it! (If you want to see the video of them saying/singing/dancing it, email me – I don’t want to post their address on here for the world to see. They are ADORABLE if I say so myself…)

I am grateful for the Royals tickets I finally ordered for Saturday.

I am grateful for the simple pleasure of a bubblegum machine.

 

I am grateful for memories of ironing handkerchiefs and pillowcases as a little girl.

I am grateful that I do not have to go down the tallest waterslide now open in KC.

I remember being forced to go down a free-fall slide at White Water Bay in Oklahoma City during a back-to-school party for CBA, and I seriously thought I was going to die. On the other hand, Schlitterbahn in New Braunfels is probably the best park ever in the history of the world as long as you don’t lose your small child when exiting the water. (gulp)

That makes me grateful for Mom who was so extremely brave to go to a water park in Branson with me and my girls when they were young. She rode those rides and if she was afraid, she didn’t let on. Oh, what a wonderful memory…

 

And finally, I am grateful for my devotion in Dad’s book today, because it planted some songs in my heart to make my day even more pleasant:

Do not fear or be discouraged. Deuteronomy 1:21b

 Many of our favorite hymns tell us what to do when discouraged. One old standby by Johnson Oatman advises: “When you are discouraged thinking all is lost, count your many blessings, name them one by one.”

 Another asks, “Why should I be discouraged, why should the shadows come?” We should rather remember that “His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.”

 The beloved hymn, “What a Friend we have in Jesus,” gives us sound advice in saying we should “never be discouraged” over a burden, for we can “take it to the Lord in prayer.”

 The spiritual, “There is a balm in Gilead” says: “Sometimes I feel discouraged, and think my work’s in vain, and then the Holy Spirit revives my soul again.”

So if you’re discouraged today, remember that a moment in the presence of our Lord can change your attitude. Count your blessings. Realize you’re more valuable than the sparrows. Take it to the Lord in prayer, and let the Holy Spirit revive your soul again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

