Fanny packs R us.

 

I am grateful that I am loaded with benefits, that I am carried and supported, that I am blessed beyond what I deserve.

I am grateful for cheap chips on a road trip – and grateful that I am not a truck driver, because I would weigh 972 pounds with this willpower or lack of.

I am grateful for this nugget from my devotions this morning:

A friend is someone who walks in when others walk out. – Walter Winchell

I am grateful for an abundance of friends who didn’t walk out, who didn’t abandon me, who didn’t feel the need to “fix” me with unsolicited advice but instead, they held my hand, offered their shoulder to lean on, and supported me with lots of prayer.

I am grateful for two pairs of glasses, so that when one becomes a toy and takes on a new shape, I still have a back-up pair.

I am grateful for this new book that I am so privileged to be reading, an advance copy of Jen Hatmaker’s revised edition of “Interrupted.”  “Love Does” was a life-changer for me, as was “12 Steps for the Recovering Pharisee” and “True-faced.” Guess what. “Interrupted” is the next book in the life-changing library on my shelf, and it will be the next book that I will give to anyone who will read it.

I am grateful for Psalm 68:19 today that was also a part of my devotions this morning. I looked up different versions, and I love these:

Blessed be the Lord, Who daily loads us with benefits, the God of our salvation! (NKJV)

Praise the Lord; praise God our Savior! For each day He carries us in His arms. (NLT)

Bless the Lord! The God of our salvation supports us day after day! (CEB)

 

I am grateful for a successful bike ride to Oklahoma City, for the cool weather on a mid-July day that made the ride very pleasant, for a protective suit that Sam bought for me, for the sights and sounds of the ride that were first-time experiences along with the trip itself, and for a driver who is cautious and took extra care to help me to feel secure and safe.

I am grateful for a fanny pack to keep my phone and a pack of cinnamon Certs while we rode down I-35. And I am grateful that I DON’T CARE WHAT PEOPLE THINK and am comfortable with the laughter. I also know who will be receiving a fanny pack for Christmas this year because they made such a big deal about ours…

2014-07-18_13-37-42_526

2014-07-18_15-53-14_676My first selfie. Ugh.

2014-07-18_18-19-45_712

 And our last selfie, because I think that term is ridiculous, as is the trend.

 

I am grateful for a pretty terrific birthday party weekend with my daughter and her family.

IMG_12259890993910

 

I am grateful for time spent with Jared again. What an example he is of living in a state of joy and generosity.

IMG_12273633919790

 

I am grateful for the opportunity to sing with and play for Karissa again. It is one of best blessings of my life to hear my daughter sing while I play for her.

IMG_12740234447633

 

I am grateful for much laughter while playing games. It would have been easier to have gone to bed after such a long day, but if I had, I would have missed out on time well-spent. Besides, I can sleep when I’m dead.

I am grateful for the experience and memory of singing Skinnamarink-y-dink-y-dink with Andrae and Anissa and Jared and Sam in the truck.

IMG_12835777319418IMG_12811553288386

 

I am grateful to have had the privilege of looking at Karissa’s scrapbook again and reliving some wonderful memories. I am so grateful she has those pictures.

I am grateful for Annistan’s hug and the fact that she wanted ME to hold her. I hadn’t experienced that with her…until this weekend.

IMG_12732285684718

 

I am grateful for my husband who gave up a special weekend to attend Andrae’s party because it was important to me, because he loves that little guy, and because he has a huge heart and wants to focus on building the future, not dwell on the past.

I am grateful for my daughter’s friends. I am so grateful she has many – it was wonderful to meet Evelyn and Whitney, and to know Julie and the women at North Church.

I am grateful for so many opportunities to see my daughter and her family since Mother’s Day. This was the fifth visit since, and we will be privileged to see them again this weekend.

I am grateful for fat cheek giggles and dribble chins.

IMG_12303064840091

 

Yep. I’m loaded with benefits and blessed beyond what I deserve.

IMG_12750754727837

(Gotta give credit where credit is due:  Pictures by Jared Wanzer. Google him. And then book a sitting and help feed a photographer.)

One thought on “Fanny packs R us.

Leave a Reply

