Chains are gone. I’ve been set free.

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.”   
– James 1:22

I didn’t sleep very well last night. There was a pretty simple explanation. I was wrong, I knew it, and the Holy Spirit wasn’t going to let me get away with it. I did something at work yesterday that I shouldn’t have done, and I needed to come clean to my boss and confess. I used something I shouldn’t have used. Easy enough to ask for forgiveness from God. He understands and readily offers grace and mercy. I could have taken that route and called it good, promising God to not do it again. But I knew that I am not the same person I once was. I need to walk the walk. I need to “do what it says.”  And not through a text message or email. I had to confess and ask for forgiveness in person.

I came to work early so that I could speak to my boss before everyone else arrived. I was the first one here. I got sweaty. I got emotional with myself, overcome with the guilt and shame and anxiety. And when he walked in the door, I confessed and apologized and asked for forgiveness and paid my restitution. I did what it says. And cried.

Words are powerful. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to you, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Load lifted. Burden gone. Sin forgiven. Chains gone. Grace bestowed. Mercy shown. All is restored. I am redeemed. I am free. I am grateful. 

One thought on “Chains are gone. I’ve been set free.

Leave a Reply

