There are no meaningless moments…

I am grateful for a beautiful mommy who prays for her children and who has learned a valuable lesson about filling her mind with positive thoughts rather than negative ones. And I am grateful to be her Mom.

I am grateful that I am not the least bit interested in a new iphone or gadget from Apple, nor am I remotely interested in the grand opening of the IKEA store in Kansas City. I am grateful that I am content.

I am grateful that I am not obsessed with/addicted to/interested in alcoholic beverages of any kind. The more I see people who are, the more grateful I become.

I am grateful for the smell of new carpet that drifts into this office today.

I am grateful for the blue light of the pool next door that glows in the night as I watch from the kitchen window.

I am grateful for a good knife.

I am grateful for parking garages.

I am grateful for my devotions this morning, from Dad’s book and from Jesus Calling, both of which talked about being content. Again, all is well with my soul…

In Psalm 23, green pastures and still waters are a sign of contentment. Few images convey the concept of peace like a flock of sheep under shady trees with their legs tucked under them, chewing the cud beside still waters. Sheep don’t lie down to eat. They only lie down after they’ve eaten, and then they relax and enjoy again what they’ve previously eaten. Nor do they lie down if they’re nervous or frightened. They only relax when they feel secure, content, and at peace.

The provisions of God’s grace come with overflowing blessings along with accompanying contentment and joy. God’s grace enables us to enjoy His fields and His folds. When the Lord is our shepherd, we have everything we need. We shall not want. We’re blessed, supplied, led, protected, and content with our Great Shepherd.

Jesus said, “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly. I am the good shepherd. “ (John 10:10-11a)

If you have the Shepherd, you have grace for every sin, direction for every turn, a candle for every corner, and an anchor for every storm. – Max Lucado

Rejoice in Me always! No matter what is going on, you can rejoice in your Love-relationship with Me. This is the secret of being content in all circumstances. So many people dream of the day when they will finally be happy; when they are out of debt, when their children are out of trouble, when they have more leisure time, and so on. While they daydream, their moments are trickling into the ground like precious balm spilling wastefully from overturned bottles.

Fantasizing about future happiness will never bring fulfillment, because fantasy is unreality. Even though I am invisible, I am far more Real than the world you see around you. My reality is eternal and unchanging. Bring your moments to Me, and I will fill them with vibrant Joy. Now is the time to rejoice in My Presence!

Philippians 4:4
Psalm 102:27

I am grateful for birthdays to celebrate.

I am grateful for good dreams that replace the bad ones.

I am grateful that I no longer obsess about TV shows but can enjoy a baseball game on a Wednesday evening and don’t plan my free time around what’s on tonight.

I am grateful for more opportunities to make our home and our lives available for ministry through our church and the challenge to serve.

I am grateful for this incredible blog post. If you read my blog, please read this short post. It has such a simple but powerful lesson:

I am grateful for little ones sitting in shopping carts, reminding me of my little ones that I miss.

I am grateful for memories of driving to Carey Park and watching the fountain change colors.

I am grateful for bakery departments in stores, which makes me grateful for red velvet cupcakes, cinnamon crumb coffee cakes, monster cinnamon rolls, chocolate cakes loaded with chocolate frosting, carrot cakes with tons of cream cheese frosting, pretty croissants, cookies with M&Ms and chocolate chunks and sprinkles and pink icing…I am grateful that I am not a professional baker. I would weigh 946 pounds and then some. One more week on this challenge…

Which makes me grateful that someone in Rich Hill, Missouri is still supplying our grocery store with seedless watermelons, because right now, they are my frosted cakes and sprinkled cookies and loaded cupcakes and golden croissants and ice cream and Reeses Peanut Butter Cups.

I am grateful for giggling babies.

Yesterday, my boss and I witnessed a father making sarcastic, degrading comments about his son in front of his son. We were having a very pleasant conversation with this man concerning some work to be done in our office, and his son, a young man who works for Dad, was listening patiently. The words caught us off guard. They were like a kick in the stomach from a bully who thought he was being funny. I watched the young man’s face and my heart was broken for him, knowing that if his father said these things about him to strangers and in public, what it must be like at home and in private. I will now add this young man to my daily prayers, that God will strengthen him and send a mentor/father-figure into his life to encourage him and build him up, that God will be gracious in giving this young man the ability to block out the words that have surely damaged his self worth. I am grateful that this young man is back in the office today and that I have an opportunity to reach out. I am grateful that I feel the weight of glory and have an opportunity to pour the light of Christ into the darkness.

Leave a Reply

