Well, good HONK.

I am grateful for chairs that spin.

I am grateful for the anticipation of spending Halloween with all six grandchildren and both of my daughters. Can the days drag on any slower?

I am grateful that I mostly realize when it is just hormones, and I do not need to take complete and total responsibility for my emotions.

Don’t let artificial light and city streets keep you from noticing sunsets and sunrises,
from experiencing the spring of new life and the harvest of fall. – M. Basil Pennington

I am grateful for the honking of geese this morning overhead. What a cheery, silly sound. It reminded me of when I was young and hanging around my cousins, Sheri and Debbie. Their “signature” idiom was “Good honk!” and it was the funniest expression to hear and to use. Go ahead. I dare you. It’ll make people look at you funny.

I am grateful, again, continuously, in fact, for the beauty of a flower. I’m just mesmerized by God’s gift of floral artistry. From the kitchen table this morning:

IMG_0483

I am grateful to have been welcomed this morning at the office by a cricket who was singing at the top of his lungs down the hallway. He sure is a happy little guy. I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free (to roam in this grand, glorious office)!

I am grateful for a great email from my brother Ron this morning in my inbox. How did I get to be so lucky as to have him for a brother?

This week in my church devotions, we are focusing on the first missionary journey of Paul and Barnabas. Today, my devotion was taken from Acts 14 and the difficulty that these two missionaries constantly faced.  I love how one of our pastors, Glen Shoup, summed it all up:

…they were determined that it didn’t matter how much it cost them, it didn’t matter how insufferable the conditions, it didn’t even matter how many or few responded to their message, they were going to keep going until somebody sent them home…and clearly even when they got sent home, they were going to regroup and come back again and make another run at it…no matter what.

Why?

They had apparently been so seized by the power of God’s Call that clearly nothing, short of 6 feet under, was going to stop them.

Sometimes I feel like this effort is futile. Sometimes I feel like it is so pointless to count my blessings, to name the seemingly insignificant gifts and things for which to be grateful.  But even in that powerful message this morning, I was reminded that if for none other than God Himself, I am to name every last thing in my life that is a gift, a blessing, a reason to say thank you. It doesn’t matter if I feel like it or not. It doesn’t matter if no one else shares in this endeavor with me. I will be grateful until He calls me home. And then, I will be ever more grateful while standing next to Mom, and Aunt Arlene and Uncle Tommy, and Ruth, and Uncle Cecil, and Grandmommy and Granddaddy, and Grandpa and Grandma, and Olin, and Vicky, and Uncle Fred, and Uncle Lloyd and Aunt Naomi, and Judy, and June, and Harold, and Elwood and Norma, and on and on and on…

We must rejoice before it comes. – Karissa, my daughter

I am grateful for pancakes made by Sam for dinner last night – it was so nice to just watch him make our dinner while we visited. And he makes great honey pancakes.

I am grateful for episodes of Green Acres. I loved Fred and Doris Ziffel and their “son” Arnold. And I loved Hank Kimball. And Mrs. Douglas’ boas that flowed as she walked. Sam’s pancakes were no Lisa Douglas pancakes, that’s for sure.

And finally, I am grateful that tonight is Bingo night, and I will once again be privileged enough to spend an hour with my friends.

Leave a Reply

