¾ of the world is covered by water…the rest is covered by Lorenzo CAIN!!

Take time to be still in My Presence. The more hassled you feel, the more you need this sacred space of communion with Me. Breathe slowly and deeply. Relax in My holy Presence while My Face shines upon you. This is how you receive My Peace, which I always proffer to you.

Imagine the pain I feel when My children tie themselves up in anxious knots, ignoring my gift of Peace. I died a criminal’s death to secure this blessing for you. Receive it gratefully; hide it in your heart. My Peace is an inner treasure, growing within you as you trust in Me. Therefore, circumstances cannot touch it. Be still, enjoying Peace in My Presence.

I am grateful for the quiet hum of a ceiling fan in a silent home.

I am grateful for memories of sitting in a screened-in porch at twilight.

I am grateful for deep conversation with a treasured friend.

I am grateful for my new book from Karissa, “Battlefield of the Mind.” Pretty powerful reading.

I am grateful for time…time just to be.

I am grateful for an understanding husband when I confess my weakness and mistakes.

I am grateful for no condemnation.

*******

I burned my tongue with chicken tortilla soup. And then I made it worse by brushing my tongue with the toothbrush. Now, it is no fun to eat. Maybe the secret to losing some more weight…

So I am grateful for the painful reminder that sometimes I do things unintentionally that end up hurting myself, and all I can do is wait for the healing, be still, and don’t eat salt.

Before the tongue injury, I was grateful for Sam’s brisket with a sweet crispy coating that was so good I had to eat it with eyes closed and humming as I chewed.

I am grateful for a massaged back.

I am grateful for the warmth of boots.

I am grateful for the smell of fresh-sawed wood.

I am grateful for a few hours to escape into a movie at the theater.

Ummm, I’m pretty grateful for this silly, thrilling Royals ride we’re on right now. Nothing like a little injection of joy and fun and excitement all over a group of young guys who were unknown just a few months ago. Davis and Cain. As if there weren’t ENOUGH reasons, they are two more reasons to love October.

And finally, my brother just now sent this to me, posted by an Orioles fan yesterday. It’s worth rooting for these Royals. I love a sweet story and a really cool underdog team:

First off, congrats. You guys are a really scrappy team and it’s making this a heck of a series. I wish a few things would have gone our way, but hey, that’s baseball.

I wanted to share something I saw during the Royals BP. My friends and I had went early, we watched you guys warm up. We stood in the left field seats and judged balls getting hit towards us–pretty fun to do if you’ve never done it. Anyways, there were a few KC players near the wall shagging fly balls, doing normal stuff. But then they started tossing a few balls to some of the little kids with gloves. They encouraged them to toss it back and thus a game of catch began between little kids (decked out in O’s gear) and KC players. This went on for a good twenty minutes. There was one in particular–Scott Downs–that was having a lot of fun with it.

These little kids ate it up. Playing catch with MLB players, man, what a memory. They treated those kids so well, and none of them had any KC gear on. I turned to my buddy and said “you know, it’s really hard to hate this team.” And that’s the truth. That was really cool, something I’ve never seen.

Anyways, just had to share it. Good luck, and know that if we don’t pull off some miracles I’m rooting for KC in the WS.

Leave a Reply

