There’s no crying in baseball! – Jimmy Dugan, A League of Their Own

It was a gray morning in Kansas City. Clouds had decided to take a break right over the top of us and dampen the spirits of those who claim the Royals their own. But, as I drove to work, God reminded me that the sun is still shining up above those clouds, and it was imperative that I find beauty in the grayness, the same way I began this grateful journey, in finding the everyday blessings in the middle of life’s trauma and chaos. And then I turned the corner. I work in the woods. Pretty literally. It’s like being in the woods in the middle of the city. There are trees and wildlife everywhere. As I turned the corner onto my work street, I looked up at the towering trees that are entering their winter season, and my breath paused. Oh, the beauty of these oranges and yellows and reds and greens and browns against a beautiful gray sky. It was…breathtaking.

A gentleman who seems to have the same schedule as me opened the door for me as I entered the building.

My egg didn’t explode in the microwave.

I was able to listen to two sides of an argument and offer words of encouragement to both rather than take a side, thanks to my reminder taped to my monitor: “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to you, O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.”

It’s candy corn time.

Tonight is another night of Royals baseball, and it’s late October.

If a woman has to choose between catching a fly ball and saving an infant’s life, she will choose to save the infant’s life without even considering if there is a man on base. — Dave Barry

I haven’t stepped in dog poop in a very long time.

My desk is full of pictures of my grandchildren. A year ago, that was not the case.

My sweet, wonderful friend, Deb, sent me an email and shared some of her memories with me – an email to save.

Progress is visible and I am in awe of how quickly the bedroom project is coming along.

We have plenty of leftovers so that I don’t spend extra money at lunchtime.

We know we’re better than this, but we can’t prove it. — Tony Gwynn

I have a new bottle of Pine Sol.

A friend posted a comment about my piano student this morning and I found out he was the subject of a great article in today’s edition of the Kansas City Star!

Fabien!! 

And I finally read this incredible article that I’m pretty sure was written just for me as I am stepping back and reflecting on where I’ve been and where I am now. My favorite quote in the article:

Before we can embrace grace, we have to embrace sin. Not celebrate it or wallow in it, just own up to it — so we can accept the forgiveness we desperately need.”

Ann Voskamp’s blog post:
What happens when our goodness isn’t good enough for God? 

YES. YES.  Yes.

So, in the midst of the gray morning, His gifts continued to be given, and I continue to be grateful for each one I notice and accept. And now, as I look out the door down the long hallway, I see sunbeams lighting the autumn, inviting me to enjoy the afternoon. Three more hours, and I think I will do just that. It’s time to be Royal, Kansas City. Be Royal.

Leave a Reply

