Wak-a-wak-a-wak-a-wak-a. Gotta love PacMan.

In daylights, in sunsets, in cups of coffee, in inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.
How do you measure a year in your life?

I am grateful for a friendly group of “coffee guys” at McDonald’s this morning, and their invitation for my Dad to join them one of these days.

I am grateful for a little bag of Oregon Cheetos that I’ve saved this week, but it is saved no longer. I savored every last crunch, thinking of my grandchildren one week ago and the little bags of chips we bought for snacks during our trip.

I am grateful for memories of after-work-time-wasting at Ken’s Pizza, playing quarter after quarter of Galaga and PacMan.

I am grateful for silly memories of a little guy named Colt, who said, “Lots of horse hockey!” when asked what he wanted for Christmas during music class one day at Western Oklahoma Christian School. It was a yearly tradition to sing “The 12 Days of Christmas” and personalize each day with the students’ wishes. Colt wanted lots of horse hockey because he loved sweeping out the horse barn with his grandpa.

I am grateful for a “sense of security” on different levels.

“We have a good life.” How ironic that these were the words that began my day today. A realization of God’s blessings.

Today, I’ve been reflecting back to a time when I lost so much of my life as I once knew it, lost many of those who were nearest and dearest to me, and I was left with only what I needed to survive each day. I had the support of my family and a handful of close friends. I had a small futon to sleep on and a small desk lamp, thanks to my sister and my niece. I had a card table and two chairs and the flopout chairs for a couch, thanks to my parents. I had a few kitchen items, thanks to Michelle. And I had an $8 floor lamp from WalMart, thanks to Nanette. The apartment was mostly empty, but I discovered that it doesn’t take much to survive. I also discovered that for me, it took losing my possessions, my children, and life as I had always known it, to finally come to repentance and find the peace and acceptance that only Christ can provide. It took losing so much in order to gain His forgiveness and His redemption and grace, realizing that all I really needed was Him.

All I Need – Shawn McDonald

This is what sparked my reflection this morning:

…I am working My ways in you: the divine Artist creating loveliness within your being. My main work is to clear out debris and clutter, making room for My Spirit to take full possession. Collaborate with Me in this effort by being willing to let go of anything I choose to take away. I know what you need, and I have promised to provide all of that – abundantly!

Your sense of security must not rest in your possessions or in things going your way. I am training you to depend on Me alone, finding fulfillment in My Presence. This entails being satisfied with much or with little, accepting either as My will for the moment. Instead of grasping and controlling, you are learning to release and receive. Cultivate this receptive stance by trusting Me in every situation.

I am grateful for a surprise on the other end of the phone last night when I called my Dad and he handed the phone to none other than…Delores!

I am grateful for this song from the musical “Rent.”  Someday, I want to see this musical in New York on Broadway. I am grateful for the simple message of the song:

Seasons of Love

525,600 minutes – how do you measure, measure a year?
In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee.
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.

In 525,600 minutes – how do you measure a year in the life?
How about love? Measure in love. Seasons of love.

525,600 minutes! 525,000 journeys to plan. 525,600 minutes –

How can you measure the life of a woman or man?
In truths that she learned, or in times that he cried.
In bridges he burned, or the way that she died.

It’s time now to sing out, though the story never ends
Let’s celebrate, remember a year in the life of friends.
Remember the love! Measure in love. Seasons of love!

And finally, on this Friday afternoon, I am grateful that I have 525,600 minutes to count my blessings each year, grateful that whether I live in an empty apartment or the most beautiful home, I have the desire to dwell in the house of the Lord, and if every material possession is stripped away and those I love are no longer, I still have all I need.

Leave a Reply

