My discombobulated brain trying to plot the course.

I am grateful for crumbs. Crumbs feed birds and crumbs feed me when they are at the bottom of a box. Cheezits, preferably. But saltine crumbs are acceptable, as are most potato chip crumbs.

I am grateful for busy weeks, like this one. No time to slack, but all the time in the world to appreciate every scheduled appointment and activity on the list. Blood donation, Bingo, CASA visit, small group, groceries, Philip Yancey at church, ballgames, errands. Ahhhhh, life is good.

I am grateful for an hour of delight on Sunday afternoon. My piano student who attends the Kansas School for the Blind had a recital and Sam and I were so fortunate to have a free afternoon to attend. It was right in the middle of a Chiefs game. We had a list, of course, of things to do. But we knew that this was something we should do. What a beautiful thing to witness. From the moment it started until the very end, I had tears in my eyes. Watching these incredible students perform their talents that require them to learn via alternative methods was such a privilege, and I was so proud of them all, especially Fabien. What a great kid he is.

I am grateful for a hug from a co-worker this morning, and I am grateful for the words to speak to her that prompted her to share something so personal and the Divine intervention she experienced this weekend.

I am grateful for conversation with Dad, and I am so grateful that he and I like to call each other on Sundays to talk about the message.

I am grateful for fresh batteries in my drawer.

I am grateful for a husband who felt the same way I did and insisted on taking multiple bags to fill for Christmas.

It’s a Monday. I drove to work this morning feeling pulled in several directions, all of my own doing. I had so many things in my mind fighting for priority. Things to add to the list. Don’t forgets. Schedule for the week. Hopes and dreams for holidays. My devotion about being a simple sheep following my Shepherd. Paying attention to the red light. Listening to the news on the radio. Reflecting on the weekend just past. Wishing for more visits with my girls and grandchildren. Wanting a Christmas tree and a house bedazzled with lights. Oooh, Bingo is tomorrow night, gotta make Chex mix. Man, it’s cold outside…

dis·com·bob·u·lateˌdiskəmˈbäbyəlāt/ – thrown into confusion

And then I stepped outside the car to make my way into the office. I had a “Shirley” moment. A “Shirley” moment is that glorious feeling you get when you take a swig of a really, really cold can of Coke and the carbonation and cold takes your breath away and makes you swallow funny. Although, I had a different kind of “Shirley” moment when I got out of the car and breathed in the 13 degree air that made my brain throw up a huge mental iron curtain to my discombobulated thoughts. It was like God reached down and knocked me on the head trying to get my attention to focus on the beauty of the day, the crisp of the season, the moment of energetic morning.

I breathed deep the icy air, looked up into the blue sky past the hanging on yellow and brown leaves all stubborn to let go, and I smiled. Thank. You. I needed that, Lord.

Living a life fully engaged and full of whimsy and the kind of things love does is something most people plan to do, but along the way they just kind of forget…You don’t need a plan; you just need to be present…it becomes clear that we need to stop plotting the course and instead just land the plane on our plans to make a difference by getting to the “do” part of our faith. That’s because love is never stationary. In the end, love doesn’t just keep thinking about it or keep planning for it. Simply put: love does. – Bob Goff, introduction to Love Does

2 thoughts on “My discombobulated brain trying to plot the course.

  1. Days like this are enough to make me have a nervous breakdown, or worse…a stroke! And WHEN I have that moment, that moment of sweet relief; peace; God. Oh THANK YOU GOD! That was a close one, God! You were here all along, God. Why do I worry, God? You already “know”, Julie….so just “be still”.
    Ok, God. 🙂

  2. Yes, I know those feelings all too well, and I am at the place in my life where they are fewer and farther between…but when they do come, my anxiety is generally over the trivial and things that really don’t matter. I love that sense of peace and calm that only He can give when I’m finally brought to my “knees.” Thanks, Julie. I love having a friend who “gets it.”

Leave a Reply

