Blink. Blink. Blink. Blink. Blink. Aaaaaaagh!!!

I am grateful for the inventor of the already peeled grapefruit in a container. The ONLY way to eat grapefruit. No more spoons with teeth, especially since we don’t have spoons with teeth. I love you, Del Monte.

I am grateful that when my mind tries to live in the past, the Holy Spirit reminds me that I live in the present and encourages me to focus here, not there.

I am grateful that last night my one good ear was tuned in pretty well, and I was able to hear the two owls in the tree past the swimming pool who then decided to visit the tree in our back yard. What a concert we had – my goodness, those two were either having a HUGE debate or they were our first Christmas carolers of the season.

I am grateful for owls in the city.

I am grateful that I was there when this picture was taken, and that I was privileged to spend time with these six children again.

I am grateful for news reporters and anchors who don’t constantly stumble over their words.

I am grateful for amazon.com.

I am grateful for simple lessons:

I am grateful for a friend who sent me her recommendations for bird books and CDs.  Thank you, Julie.

I am grateful for a slight touch of OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder). That little green blinking light on my phone drives me absolutely positively insane and reminds me that I need to walk away from technology more often.

Which reminds me to be grateful that I am the type of person who cannot crawl into bed at night unless it has been made first.

Which reminds me that water spots on shiny silverware are an issue.

Which reminds me that lights left on when no one is in the room will raise my blood pressure.

Which reminds me that water spatter and toothpaste spittle makes me late because I cannot leave the bathroom unless the mirror is clean.

Moving on…

I am grateful for gold dollar coins and $2 bills.

I am grateful for memories of the girls’ Christmas lights necklaces, my Christmas stocking, memories of the girls’ ornaments, memories of the baby food jar tree, and for memories of matching Christmas dresses my Mom and Dad always got for the girls.

And I am grateful for the song, “There’s Just Something About That Name.” I love the Gaithers.

3 thoughts on “Blink. Blink. Blink. Blink. Blink. Aaaaaaagh!!!

  1. Ok I was with ya on the blinking light and water spots on silverware. And I have chewed out many a family member for leaving the lights on. But when you mentioned having the bed made and cleaning the bathroom mirror at the first sign of toothpaste…..well….you probably better not come to my house. I am pretty sure that you will consider me a slob. 🙂
    I think it’s so funny to hear you complain about anything! Because to me, that’s just not you. And because “little” things drive me crazy too….I think I should start my own blog. I will call it “julieisUNgrateful”. That way I can gripe about all of these things and more! 🙂
    I love your inspirational and positive comments….but hearing about the things that drive you crazy…..that just makes my day!

Leave a Reply

