The best Christmas song ever.

I am grateful for moments of reflection, moments of sadness, moments of quiet, for Mannheim Steamroller’s “Silent Night,” for wishing we were with the girls and their families this week, for missing my Mom and Dad this Christmas, for the sound of jingle bells, for the beauty of falling snow, for the fact that the Savior of the world entered the world as a “nobody” and because of Him, my name is written down in Glory.

I want to see Christ in Christmas this year. I NEED to see Christ in Christmas. That means I need to see Christ…

…in the co-worker who is so inappropriate and crass.

…in the family member who has hurt me to the core.

…in the church member that I think is a hypocrite – and who is the real hypocrite now?

…in the child that has tested my patience to its limit.

…in the neighbor down the street who practices a different religion and comes from a foreign country.

…in the guy holding the cardboard sign all day on the side of the road, whether he’s “legitimate” or not.

…in the politician who is on the other side.

…in the driver who acts like an idiot.

…in the young man who is playing his music loud enough for Baltimore to hear.

…in the young woman who hasn’t learned the meaning of modesty and is searching for attention and affection.

…in the guy standing in line with the foul mouth and horrible attitude.

…in the parents who don’t discipline their children.

That means I need to be a light, I need to show Jesus to this weary world, because I may be the only Jesus they ever see.

Truly He taught us to love one another,
His law is love and His gospel is peace.
Chains He shall break, for the slave is our brother. 

And in His name all oppression shall cease.
A thrill of hope — the weary world rejoices

THAT’s what Christmas is all about, Charlie Brown. And I am so grateful.

3 thoughts on “The best Christmas song ever.

  1. I just want you to know…..that I see Jesus in you. YOU give me hope for myself. Hope that I CAN someday, show Jesus to people even when I am not FEELING Jesus’ presence near me. You deal with the same things that I and so many other people deal with. You feel the same way that I and so many others feel. The difference is that even when you’re upset about things….people still see Jesus in YOU.

  2. Rhonda, I agree with Julie Klahr. I have been reading your blogs regularly – and I want you to know that I see, feel, and sense Jesus in you. You have been a blessing in my life. I truly hope you and Sam and your loved ones have a wonderful Christmas and a tremendously blessed New Year!

  3. Rhonda,

    May your Christmas be filled with Joy and Love – and may the spirit of Christ truly overflow in your life! I just posted a few comments and a Christmas wish on your blog. But when I went to add my name to the “Leave a Reply” block, it somehow only picked up the “R” of Rick. I didn’t want you to think I was trying to be secretive or misleading. Your blog is a blessing and a witness to the spirit of Christ.

    Blessings!

    Rick

    Rev. / Dr. Richard Johnson

    1 Hampton Lane

    Weaverville, NC 28787

    Cell: (270) 473-1212 [soon to be: 828 772-2348]

    Email: johnson006@earthlink.net

Leave a Reply

