I am grateful for that complicated cobweb in the corner.

Because if there is a cobweb with many strings indicating it has had much time for which to grow, and this office building is cleaned every single day of the week, and the fine cleaning crew who really does a very nice job at what they do MISSED that complicated cobweb, then I am not a complete failure in our home when I happen to find slightly less complicated cobwebs that generate when I’m not paying attention.

I am grateful for Sam, because he brought extra wood inside last night, and when I was unable to sleep and went to the couch and noticed the still-burning remnants of the evening in the fireplace, I was able to add to the orange hot coals and enjoy a good fire for a couple of hours without having to go outside in the single digits and retrieve wood, not that I would have done that, so it was nice to have some extra wood in the stacker thing to use.

I am grateful for the beauty of stained glass and now that our church is commissioning the work, I am grateful for this newfound appreciation of the art.

I am grateful for my love of reading.

I am grateful for a Sunday afternoon to just clean the house.

I am grateful for bagged lettuce.

I am grateful for a sparkle in the eye of a 95-year-old whose goal it is to make it to 100.

I am grateful for the privilege of listening to Sam and his sister read birthday cards to their Dad on Saturday afternoon.

I am grateful for Home Depot smell.

I am grateful that I am not important enough to attend award shows and can avoid sequins and fake nails and heels that could be used as weapons.

“What matters is not your outer appearance—the styling of your hair, the jewelry you wear, the cut of your clothes—but your inner disposition. Cultivate inner beauty, the gentle, gracious kind that God delights in. – I Peter 3:3-4 (The Message)

“So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.” – I Peter 5:6-7

And I am grateful for the start of a new week, for the end of this Monday, and the beginning of Monday evening.

People need to be encouraged.
Here’s the challenge:
Send an email this week that the recipient will not delete.
Send a note in the mail that will be saved for years.
Leave an encouraging voice mail that will be saved for a long time.
Go up to someone and just do whatever you can
to encourage as an expression of Christian love.
– Leith Anderson

Leave a Reply

