“I won’t fund it, but I’ll be your biggest cheerleader.” – Chennette Messick

She told the story of her son’s dream on a Sunday morning, and those words were implanted in my brain. A Mom who loves fiercely.  A Mom who wears her heart on her shoulder. A Mom who teaches life lessons while loving through the hard, enjoying moments of victory, making mistakes but being real and being transparent so that her children can see the beauty of grace. I am grateful today for that message on that Sunday in May last year and hope that my girls know I’ll always be their biggest cheerleader…

I am grateful for my bowl of rice today that reminds me of Ginny.

I am grateful that Deb sends her daily devotions to me every day:

February 24, 2015 – “The Lord’s bond servant must not be quarrelsome, but be kind to all, able to teach, patient when wronged.” 2 Timothy 2:24 NASB.

Out of love and respect, a bond servant serves his master long after his obligation has been satisfied.  His behavior and attitude reflect what’s in his heart.

We are not obligated to serve God to earn our freedom—Christ accomplished that on the cross.  We serve God out of love and respect for Him.  Our attitude and behavior show what’s in our hearts.  Being a bond servant to the Lord is a privilege.”

I am grateful for lessons learned the hard way: the pursuit of a degree in court reporting that went by the wayside but is still coming out of my bank account each month, and an apartment rental decision made in haste back in 2012 because I wanted to make a decision on my own and be independent, only to discover after a non-refundable deposit had been made, I would be living in a very high crime neighborhood. Choices cost something – make sure they are worth the price, Rhonda.

I am grateful for the treat of seeing a grown daughter sharing laughter with her Mom.

I am grateful for the heart joy of receiving Delores’ note in the mail last night.

I am grateful for the privilege of watching: a little guy eat a bagel too big, or a fascinated baby girl point at a squirrel, or two grandparents sharing a McDonald’s breakfast with their mussed-up hair sleepy grandchildren.

I am grateful for gloves in nighttime bitterness.

There are no little things.
“Little things,” so called, are the hinges of the universe.
– Fanny Fern

Let us try to do what makes peace and helps one another.
– Romans 14:19 NCV

I am grateful that a grown man takes the time to be with his sister and show her how much he cares and loves her.

I am grateful for young parents who teach their littles the importance of staying connected and knowing their grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

I am grateful for pretty crocheted hats and scarves, handmade with love.

I am grateful that my parents said, “No, if you want it, you’ll have to get a job and earn it.”

I am grateful for sweet innocence in children.

I am grateful that the one who knows the whole story loves me anyway, and that the One who knows the whole story, loves me because He knows the whole story.

I am grateful for my CASA girl. She is 15 years old today. I began this CASA journey with her to fill a void, and she now has a permanent place in my heart.

Listening to Lady Gaga perform on Sunday evening made me grateful for memories of “The Sound of Music” at Central Christian and for memories of the cast pictures my brother took.

That makes me grateful for all of my students who enriched my world over the years, and especially for those students who loved me and still keep in touch with me in spite of the short temper, the moodiness, and my limitations.

And I am grateful for memories of those plastic braided bracelets we all used to make at Camp Quaker Haven in the 70’s. As I was reminded this morning with the quote above, there are no little things.

Every. Last. Thing.

5 thoughts on ““I won’t fund it, but I’ll be your biggest cheerleader.” – Chennette Messick

  1. I have read several of these, including where you are grateful for me. And i, am grateful for you.
    For monster cookies.
    For cakes.
    For tred climbers.
    For state music.
    For solo practice.
    For piano lessons.
    For “the talk”
    For the consistancy of your love.

    I am grateful for YOU!

Leave a Reply

