Nothing like opening a can of woims.

Sometimes, I have a hard time being grateful. It just takes so much effort to think of the wonderful and to put the wonderful into words in a creative and interesting way. My rule is: Never repeat. I break it every now and then, but not very often. There are days, however, when I just want to say, “Ditto to the last 1000 grateful days, I’m done now.”

So, for this day, I am just random and might possibly repeat, but no one will really know because if anyone were to go back through the archives and actually locate a repeated grateful, they have problems that need to be addressed.

I am grateful for socks without holes.

I am grateful for fresh breath.

I am grateful for BEAUTIFUL pictures in the mail last night from Karissa.

I am grateful to have heard Reilly’s voice in the background as I spoke to Katrina.

I am grateful for the smell of Pine-Sol.

I am grateful that my teeth do not always hurt, but when they do, I am grateful that ibuprofen dulls the pain.

I am grateful for the DVR that records Ellen and The Blacklist and The Voice.

I am grateful that my boss believes in UFOs and aliens because she makes me feel very normal.

I am grateful for carpet without stains.

I am grateful for melty cheese.

I am grateful for memories of my dogs making noises when they dreamt.

This morning, I sent my co-workers the current copier count so that they would know how many copies have been made in the past month here in the office. The email string has been so entertaining, and I am feeling all squirmy and happy it is Friday after I opened the can of worms. So I am grateful it is Friday.

I am grateful for a few minutes of sitting across the table from Delores.

I am grateful for the rare occasion when I do something that I just think is so hilarious and I laugh out loud at myself.

Hilarious

I am grateful that I like to read, but I sure wish I could just spend a couple of hours a few times each week enjoying books. I know, I know. Quit watching Ellen before bedtime and pick up a book…

I am grateful that I did not have boys. I would not have known what to do with a baby boy. It’s a frightening thought.

I am grateful for homemade chocolate chip peanut butter oatmeal cookies, especially when I bring one to work.

I am grateful for a girl who talks very Texan and makes me smile when she speaks. Bye = Bah. Night = Naht. Right = Raht. Eye = Ah. You get the pattern…

That reminds me of a song I used to teach to my little elementary classes. Thirty purple birds, sitting on a curb, a’chirping and a’burping and a’eating dirty worms. But then we would sing it “Bugs Bunny” style: Thoity poiple boids, sitting on a coib, a’choiping and a’boiping and a’eating doity woims. I am grateful for those good memories.

And finally on this day, I am grateful that Love has the last word.

Encourage one another and build each other up,
just as in fact you are doing.
1 Thessalonians 5:11

Leave a Reply

