The earth laughs in flowers. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am grateful for tulips.

I am grateful for a vehicle that has windows that roll down for breeze and pleasure. I am not as grateful for other windows that roll down for inappropriate rap music and cigarette smoke.

I am grateful for memories of Natia enjoying a sunbeam and Topo scratching his back in the grass.

I am grateful for my devotions today that I have read now several times. I need some brain and heart superglue to make this stick:

Thank me for the glorious gift of My Spirit. This is like priming the pump of a well. As you bring Me the sacrifice of thanksgiving, regardless of your feelings, My Spirit is able to work more freely within you. This produces more thankfulness and more freedom, until you are overflowing with gratitude.

I shower blessings on you daily but sometimes you don’t perceive them. When you mind is stuck on a negative focus, you see neither Me nor My gifts. In faith, thank Me for whatever is preoccupying your mind. This will clear the blockage so that you can find Me.

I am grateful for time to get away from the office and just enjoy the sunshine and the birds singing for a little while.

I am grateful for bags of donations to give to the Rescue Mission thrift store.

I am grateful for close basketball games that are fun to watch.

I am grateful for the book of Ephesians.

I am grateful that my daughter has called me a few times this week.

I am grateful for bills paid.

I am grateful to be able to witness the elderly man with the Royals baseball cap who came in the building very slowly in order to visit his financial planner, the young man who pushes his Mom in a wheelchair every day to take her to one of the offices above, the elderly couple who walked past my window holding hands, the Dad who brought his spring break daughters to work with him, the brave window washers who deserve a beautiful first spring day, the group of Asian young men who laugh together as they walk outside during one of their computer breaks, the UPS and FedEx delivery people who have a skip in their step today since it is such a pleasant afternoon, and I am grateful to have witnessed a flower delivery person who just made someone’s day even prettier.

Leave a Reply

