Bless the Lord, Oh My Soul.

I am grateful for the promise of a new day. Forget yesterday and the day before. Focus on today. A co-worker told me yesterday that her daughter deserves to have a Mom who lives in the present, not the past. I like that. I want to be a person who lives in the present, not the past.

I am grateful for growing tomato plants.

I am grateful for those sparrows again. They make me smile.

I am grateful for a clean kitchen floor.

I am grateful for soft almost melted chocolate chips.

I am grateful for happy hosta plants.

I am grateful for shopping carts, especially the ones that have a child in the seat and a child in the bin.

I am grateful for books that I don’t want to put down. If I could spend an entire day at home by myself, I would read. I love that world of peeking in on a different story than my own, of learning another perspective.

I am grateful for the smell of fresh cut lawn.

I am grateful for the simplicity of a Bingo game, for gold dollar coins, for $2 bills, for grumpy friends who wear Royals t-shirts and smell of 5:00 dinner, and for ladies who dress with their pretty earrings and necklaces to step out of their apartments in order to play Bingo with Rhonda on Tuesday evenings.

And I am grateful for a pleasant song playing on my internal jukebox. Hopefully, it will still be playing and I will still be singing when the evening comes.

Leave a Reply

