Simpleton redefined.

sim·ple·ton – a foolish or gullible person.

sim·ple·ton, redefined – unadorned and invisible, but valuable and loved by One.

I am grateful for the beauty of the simpleton. It’s what I named him. Simpleton. He’s my sparrow friend who teases me almost every morning with a visit just inside the open garage. A little hop, hop, hop to check things out, his cute little head turning to keep an eye on me as I peek at him.  I watch this little guy that might be a little girl but how would I ever know, and I am immediately drawn to him because of his simplicity. He isn’t crimson red attractive or head turning blue.  He wears brown just fine.  He is the nobody, the one no one notices.  He makes noise. He sings his song. He goes about his business exactly like the prettier birds. And he sometimes makes his nest where he is uninvited.  More often than not, he is dismissed and rejected.

I’m wearing brown today. I can relate in many areas of my life. There are some days when I feel very invisible, very blah, very annoying to everyone around me. There are days when I wish I could be red or purple or royal blue. I’m just a brown simpleton. But, several times in the Bible, God speaks of the “sparrow” and assures us that His care knows no prejudice.

In 1904, a songwriter, Mrs. Civilla Martin, went to visit a bedridden friend in Elmira, New York. Mrs. Martin asked the woman if she ever got discouraged because of her physical condition. Her friend quickly responded: “Mrs. Martin, how can I be discouraged when my heavenly Father watches over each little sparrow and I know He loves and cares for me?”

On her journey back home, Mrs. Martin completed the writing of her new text, which has since been a source of much encouragement to many of God’s people:

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come, why should my heart be lonely and long for Heaven and home, when Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He: His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me…

“Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear, and resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears; though by the path He leadeth but one step I may see: His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me…

Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise, when songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies, I draw the closer to Him; from care He sets me free; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me…

I am grateful for the color brown, and I am grateful for my friend, Simpleton, who reminded me, because my simpleton-ness sometimes forgets, that I am loved today.

Leave a Reply

