I am grateful for this today.

I am grateful that this song is a part of my history, that my parents were faithful in attending church, that for all of the times that I sat on the hard pews and drew on bulletins and folded gum wrappers and bugged my sister and slept on my Mom’s lap and got thumped when I was too noisy, God was implanting the voices of Lowell and Josephine and Carolyn at the piano and Roy Quick’s warbles and Mom’s strong alto and Shirley’s “Amen!” and the words of this beautiful hymn.

Leave a Reply

