You live with your thoughts. So be careful what they are. – Eva Arrington

I am grateful this morning that I woke up.

I am grateful this morning for time in the stillness and quietness of the new day to sit and pray and reflect and enjoy.

I am grateful when devotions scream, I mean gently nudge, at me:

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass by you in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.

Learn to enjoy life more. Relax, remembering that I am God with you. I crafted you with enormous capacity to know Me and enjoy My Presence. When My people wear sour faces and walk through their lives with resigned rigidity, I am displeased. When you walk through a day with childlike delight, savoring every blessing, you proclaim your trust in Me, your ever-present Shepherd. The more you focus on My Presence with you, the more fully you can enjoy life. Glorify Me through your pleasure in Me. Thus you proclaim My Presence to the watching world.

I am grateful for the conviction and reminder that I should be filling my mind with the positive and not the negative. In this political climate we are once again entering, I want to focus on those who are sharing hope, not despair. I want to listen to my pastor who shares hope and grace and love, not those who dwell on the adverse and destruction of morality and offer little in the way of Jesus and his love. I want to be around people who do not spread negativity, who do not complain, who speak to make the day better. I am grateful for the reminder to count. every. last. thing. Even the seemingly normal and mundane.

So, once again, I am grateful this morning that I woke up.

Leave a Reply

