It is difficult to eat a crunchy taco when you can’t feel your face.

 

But I am grateful that I cannot feel my face, because it means that a cavity has been filled and mouth is once again semi-healthy. I do not recommend cavities however, in the front teeth, or anywhere for that matter. How many times have I bitten my lip while biting into that taco… Is bitten a word?

I am grateful that I am sleep-deprived, because it means that Michelle came to visit and talked into the morning after midnight, and it also means that the next night, the Royals decided to win Game 1 of the World Series in the 14th inning. Eye toothpicks are needed, but a bitten lip/lip bitten will have to do.

I am grateful that I am broke, because it means that I have stacks of books ready to wrap for grandchildren Christmas, Bingo prizes continue to flow on Tuesday nights, the furnace was able to be used last night for the first time this season since bills are paid, and I am blessed with a dead face for a little while in order to bite my lip while eating a crunchy taco.

I am grateful that I have no time to do anything, because it means that I have filled my time with lots of activity which means that I am not bored.

I am grateful that I am overweight, because it means that I am enjoying crunchy tacos and macaroni and cheese and chocolate anything and have decided that I am who I am.

I am grateful that I live far away from family, because it means that when I DO get to see them, it is that much better, like seeing Cindi, Greg, and Doug, and then Delores and Dwight and Marlene, and then Danny and Glenda, and then Michelle. That much better it is.

I am grateful that we were late to church, because it means that we were surprised to see Danny and Glenda walking in at the same time and that led to sitting with my cousin in church and then having breakfast with them afterwards.

I am grateful that I won’t be able to sit on the couch on Friday night and watch the Royals play, because it means that we will be overnighting with our small group in the Flint Hills.

And I am grateful that I can no longer relax on Thursday evenings after my CASA visit, because it means that I will now be a member of choir at church and I will once again be privileged to play the piano on a regular basis.

 

Leave a Reply

