I’m just a nerdy birdy.

I am grateful for who I am. I am grateful that I do not want to live in a nation that says, “Stay out.” I am grateful that I want to live in a country that says, “We have room, we want you, we hurt with you, you are welcome here.”

I’ve been collecting books. Children’s books are my favorite. In fact, for many years now, and Shirley Mackey can attest to this, one of my most favorite things in life would be…children’s books. Picture books. The kind that can be read in a few short minutes and the kind that has the BEST PICTURES.  The kind that has a sweet story or one that makes a heart laugh or one that puts a lump in my throat.

I am grateful for the simple but profound and beautiful story of Nerdy Birdy. Everyone should have this book on their coffee table. It is a sweet story that makes my heart laugh and puts a lump in my throat, all at the same time. And it’s a perfect message for these times we are living right now.

I am grateful for silence.

I am grateful for grandchildren pictures to stare at.

I am grateful for my mom’s coat to wear.

I am grateful for the convenience of online shopping and bill paying. I am so vulnerable to retail temptation when my grandchildren are involved, and it is best that I stay out of stores as much as possible.

I am grateful that I am passive and a peacemaker. I would not want to be any other way.

 

I am grateful that Sam listens to me and allows me to engage in long conversation about what is going on in the world.

I am grateful for someone who has a great speaking voice. There is a man who works on a floor above and I always know when he comes off the elevator around the corner because no one has a deep voice like he does. I could listen to him all day. He needs a new career as a narrator for audio books. A voice like buttah. He should read Nerdy Birdy out loud. To me.

I am grateful for flowers that Sam brought to me.

I am grateful for the President of France and his determination to do the right thing in the midst of tragedy and fear.

 

Leave outcomes up to Me. Follow wherever I lead, without worrying about how it will all turn out. Think of your life as an adventure, with Me as your Guide and Companion. Live in the now, concentrating on staying in step with Me. When our path leads to a cliff, be willing to climb it with My help. When we come to a resting place, take time to be refreshed in My Presence. Enjoy the rhythm of life lived close to Me.

You already know the ultimate destination of your journey: your entrance into Heaven. So keep your focus on the path just before you, leaving the outcomes up to Me.

I am grateful that sometimes, my devotions are like a pierce to the heart. Or they are like that V8 commercial where the guy gets bopped on the head. DUH, nerdy birdy.

Finally, I am grateful today that God is God, I am who I am, and He loves me JUST AS I AM, all wishy-washy-peacemaker-avoid-conflict-love-everyone-dailyfail-try-again-rose-colored-glasses me.

Leave a Reply

