It’s a happy sunny day and we’re playing the accor-di-uhn!

This morning, I am sore throat-less, it’s a Hoops and YoYo happy sunny day, and Sam and I just read a wonderful devotion:

So how do you lift your head off the pillow in the morning to face a day you know will be filled with distressing trials? You need to know the secret to blessed assurance.

In her infancy, Fanny Crosby became blind. As a young girl she was once asked by her mother if she resented her blindness, and she replied, “Mother, if I had a choice, I would still choose to remain blind…for when I die, the first face I will ever see will be the face of my blessed Savior.” Hers are powerfully convicting words to those who lack contentment in their predicaments. With more than 8000 hymns to her credit, Fanny remained confident in her visually impaired state, saying, “I don’t believe I would have ever written all of those hymns had I been able to see.”

To see joy in our trials, good in our pain, purpose in our frustrations, is the secret to finding strength to live each day. Instead of resentment, find renewed confidence in your trials. Make Fanny’s song yours: “Bless assurance, Jesus is mine!…This is my story, this is my song, praising my Savior all the day long!”

I am grateful for my favorite hymn and the reminder of it this morning to keep me singing all day.

I am grateful for memories of Nanette and the Hoops and YoYo Happy Sunny Day Hallmark e-card. This used to drive me bonkers but it’s just so HAPPY. You can watch it/view it here by clicking on the “play arrow” over the “Do you know what today is?” question, since I don’t have a clue how to post it any other way:

https://www.hallmarkecards.com/ecards/happy-sunny-day-npg6248

Hoops, Piddles, and YoYo.

I am grateful for beautiful poinsettias with big leaves, especially the one sitting in front of me that is a gorgeous orange and yellow, and especially the little red one on the end table that arrived last Saturday from one of our friends and we don’t know who!, and especially the humongous one in the living room that Sam bought for me at Home Depot with leaves as big as my head.

I am grateful for the sound of a dishwasher and a washing machine working this morning while I sit here and type. It is a very pleasant sound, with Charlie Brown Christmas music playing in the background.

I am grateful that one day I will see Jesus. Until then, I will live my life so that maybe, just maybe, someone will see Jesus through me.

I am grateful for 20 minutes last night to just drive through a neighborhood and look at Christmas lights in silence.

I am grateful for a desire to make a salad or two today. If you know me, you understand. That desire does not come around very often.

And I am grateful for a day to be productive and get things done.

Leave a Reply

