Christmas After.

 

I am grateful for an amaryllis that is in the kitchen windowsill.

I am grateful for busy Christmas weekends to numb the dull ache.

I am grateful for family gift exchange.

I am grateful for a sister and niece who stayed for dinner.

I am grateful for carols sung at church.

I am grateful for games played around the table.

I am grateful for family who wants to spend Christmas together.

I am grateful for hugs goodbye.

I am grateful for beds made with clean sheets all ready for company again.

I am grateful for early morning devotions with Sam.

I am your refuge and strength, an ever-present Help in trouble. Therefore, you don’t need to be afraid of anything – not even cataclysmic circumstances. The media are increasingly devoted to fear-inducing subject matter: terrorism, serial killers, environmental  catastrophes. If you focus on such dangers and forget that I am your Refuge in all circumstances, you will become increasingly fearful. Every day I manifest My grace in countless places and situations, but the media take no notice. I shower not only blessings but also outright miracles on your planet.

As you grow closer to Me, I open your eyes to see more and more of My Presence all around you. Things that most people hardly notice, like shifting shades of sunlight, fill you with heart-bursting JOY. You have eyes that see and ears that hear, so proclaim My abiding Presence in the world.

I am grateful for Psalm 46:1, my verse that I said over and over and over and over when I was in the hospital at 15 years of age with a broken leg and major surgeries to follow.

I am grateful for the beauty of sleet on a sidewalk.

I am grateful for the gray of a snowy day.

I am grateful for Michelle chocolate chip cookies.

I am grateful for sad thoughts of missing Mom.

I am grateful for Christmas tree twinkle to enjoy for one more week.

I am grateful for five little boys to share Christmas Day.

I am grateful that my girls have memories of Christmases at Grandma and Grandpa’s, and years of Christmas goodbye hugs and tears.

I am grateful for defrost.

I am grateful for memories of Christmas past. I may not have Christmas future, but I’m hanging on to my Christmas past.

I am grateful for mint flavored floss.

I am grateful for the smell of Christmas candles and tire department and poster marker and onions and green peppers sautéing in butter and cinnamon rolls baking and hardware store and wood burning. But not all at the same time.

I am grateful for news of a little first tooth pulled and excitement for the tooth fairy.

And I am grateful for sleepy Natia.

 

Leave a Reply

