My motto is: More good times. – Jack Nicholson

As I typed last night, I am grateful little things remind me of past friends and good times…

  1. Like when I hear the Francesca Battistelli song:

Cause I got a couple dents in my fender
Got a couple rips in my jeans
Try to fit the pieces together
But perfection is my enemy
On my own I’m so clumsy
But on your shoulders I can see
I’m free to be me

and remember a car ride with CBA girls, all of us singing it at the top of our lungs.

  1. Like when I hear Def Leppard and remember riding around in Hutch with Cindy, both of us singing at the top of our lungs.
  2. Like when I see a clown and remember teasing Melissa with Stephen King’s “It” on the kitchen TV.
  3. Like when I see or hear a music box – it always makes me think of Lori and how I loved and admired her collection of music boxes when we played on Sunday afternoons at her house.
  4. Like when my necklace clasp makes its way to the pendant in front and I think of Amanda when she stunned and mortified me with, “Mrs. G, your boob is showing.” That’s what she called a necklace clasp, and that’s what made me turn bright red.
  5. Like when I eat or make a chocolate trifle in a pretty trifle bowl and I think of the CBA ladies and our January birthdays.
  6. Like when I see a teenager offer to help in the kitchen, or just help in the kitchen without asking, I think of Vangie and how she was the subject of my high school choir trip instructions when staying in a host home. “Be a Vangie.”
  7. Like when I see a puppet of any sort, I always sing in my head, “His little lamb I am,” or “Grace loved to tell the story,” or I say to myself, “I ain’t a’lyin!” and think of Ginger and her beautiful spirit and gift she has shared with the world of children and adults.
  8. Like when I see someone who is frustrated or down in the dumps and automatically think, “What’s the deal, pickle?” in Shirley’s voice, just like she frequently said to students who walked in the library and needed some Mrs. Mackey to make it through the day.
  9. Like when it’s a new season of “The Bachelor” or “The Bachelorette” or “Survivor” or “Big Brother”, shows I no longer watch, but I reminisce about the memories I have with Nanette and Amanda and Erin and Skyler, hanging out with Dr. Peppers and Cheez-Its or popcorn and being fully engulfed.
  10. Like when I have an issue with Microsoft Word or my company’s website content and immediately think of Roman.
  11. Like when I see a table with games and lots of people laughing, I think of our dining room table when it was covered in board game and popcorn and surrounded with Jared and Katrina and Brad and Austin and Keith and Karissa and they would include me in their laughter and fun.

Leave a Reply

