It’s a good day for an Icee because it’s a little icy.

 

 

Thankfulness takes the sting out of adversity. That is why I have instructed you to give thanks for everything. There is an element of mystery in this transaction: You give Me thanks (regardless of your feelings), and I give you JOY (regardless of your circumstances). This is a spiritual act of obedience – at times, blind obedience. To people who don’t know Me intimately, it can seem irrational and even impossible to thank Me for heartrending hardships. Nonetheless, those who obey Me in this way are invariably blessed, even though difficulties may remain.

Thankfulness opens your heart to My Presence and your mind to My thoughts. You may still be in the same place, with the same set of circumstances, but it is as if a light has been switched on, enabling you to see from My perspective. It is this Light of My Presence that removes the sting from adversity.

I am grateful for cold fingers. They make me appreciate the warm space heater at my feet.

I am grateful for crisp apple slices.

I am grateful for a few minutes this morning to sit with Natia in the quiet.

I am grateful for snow anticipation.

I am grateful for my Bingo friend, Cindy, who heard “I-23” and immediately recited the 23rd Psalm, twice.

I am grateful for a Cheezit with accidental extra salt on top. Bonus.

I am grateful for the opportunity to learn something new tonight at church.

I am grateful my sister is taking her family to the beach.

I am grateful that Sam has good friends who are also really good at remodeling.

I am grateful for luxuries like post-it notes and zipper bags and shopping carts.

I am grateful for my Bingo friend, Cindy, who lamented that there was no “O-91” so she could recite Psalm 91.

I am grateful for Mrs. Olson, my freshman Bible teacher, who made us learn Psalms songs. I still sing, “I will bless the Lord at all times, His praise shall continually be in my mouth…”

“Oh magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name togeth-er, I sought the Lord and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears…”

 

And I am grateful for spaghetti, macaroni, fettucine, linguine, lasagna, and angel hair.

Leave a Reply

