Maturity starts when drama ends.

I am grateful for moments of no drama. Sometimes, being an ostrich sounds like a pretty good plan. Stick my head in the earth and pretend everything is quiet and okay.

There are lots of scribbles right now. I would like just a picture of a simple happy face. Or maybe a house with a flower in the grass. But what we have are scribbles.

God knows my heart, knows my worry. He knows her heart and her worries. He knows all the scribbles. So He gave two things to me this morning.

The first was this quote on my desk:

Dare to love and to be a real friend. The love you give and receive is a reality that will lead you closer and closer to God as well as to those whom God has given you to love. – Henri J.M. Nouwen

The second was this song. It’s an older one that I’ve known for years, but I listened to it as I drove. I really listened.

Word of God Speak.

And these are the lyrics that stood out to me, blaring like a marching band, but as precise and quiet as a pin drop.

The last thing I need – is to be heard
But to hear what You would say…

I’m finding myself in the midst of You
Beyond the music, beyond the noise
All that I need is to be with You
And in the quiet, hear Your Voice…

Word of God speak – would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see Your majesty
To be still and know, that You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest, in Your holiness…

 

So I am grateful when God speaks.

And I am grateful when I am smart enough to actually listen.

And I am grateful that I am daring to love, even when it would be easier to walk away.

Leave a Reply

