Hang on to the people in your life who want you in theirs.

I am grateful for the reminder to find a spring flower and actually look at it, appreciating the beauty and the intricacies while giving thanks for its Creator.

I am grateful that Dad drove to Hutchinson to spend some time.

I am grateful for the satisfaction of pulling a dandelion.

I am grateful for cinnamon and sugar mixed together.

I am grateful for my devotion this morning. A simple message but one that penetrated today.

Babe Ruth, one of the most famous baseball players of all time, finished his career in a slump. According to a legendary story, he was ridiculed mercilessly after one game as he made his way back to the dugout. The fans continued to boo and yell obscenities until a little boy jumped the fence and ran to Babe’s side.

The child threw his arms around Babe’s legs, crying as he fiercely hugged him. Moved by the young boy’s display of affection, Ruth gently lifted the boy up into his arms. As they walked off the field, the man and boy cried together.

This young boy demonstrated the true nature of compassion – he sympathized with the sorrows of another. His example reminds us that a compassionate man does not stand detached from the sufferings of others. Rather, he steps into the world of the hurting and feels the pain and anguish of the one suffering. And he expresses his compassion through sincere concern, through a listening ear, a shed tear.

The world is full of hurting people, many who are longing for a compassionate friend. Will you be that friend?

Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep. – Romans 12:15

I am grateful for the opportunity to sit and hold a hand for an hour last night in a place I never thought I would see or be.

I am grateful to have talked to three of my girls yesterday.

I am grateful for social workers and my CASA supervisor.

And I am grateful for a big heart, even though it really hurts sometimes.

Leave a Reply

