Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue and all will be right again.

 

I am grateful for moments when my sadness requires me to reflect, when my counselor says something profound and goes straight to the heart, when my anger and whining cause me to step back and appreciate what I DO have, when someone posts something on social media that is just what I needed in the moment, and when I feel God wrapping me tightly in His grasp as if to whisper, “It’s okay, Rhonda. I GET it. I HAVE it. We’ll deal together, and I’ll go first.”

 

image

 

Shawna posted this two days ago. I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind. I believe it is a quote by Jill Blakeway.  And I’m pretty sure the unknown person who wrote this on a white board in some office building somewhere in the world had no idea that it would end up on social media and come through to this broken person, giving her renewed hope that one day, some day, the unfairness and dark cruelty of it all might come to light and they might see the truth, at least some of the truth, that caused the journey and they might realize that there was always another side to the story they were told.

“I have learned to kiss the wave
that throws me against the rock of ages.”

–Charles Spurgeon

I am grateful for the ones who made a choice to stay in my life despite it all…

But I am also grateful for the ones who threw me against the Rock of Ages, because without their abandonment, I would not necessarily feel the need to cling and hold on while the storm raged in me and still rages around me.

James 1:2-4
The Message 

“Consider it a sheer gift, friends,
when tests and challenges come at you from all sides.
You know that under pressure,
your faith-life is forced into the open
and shows its true colors.
So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely.
Let it do its work
so you become mature and well-developed,
not deficient in any way.”

I am grateful for Eugene Peterson who wrote The Message translation of the Bible.

And I am grateful for renewed hope, even if it is just a thought.

Leave a Reply

