If loving is wrong, I don’t wanna be right.

 

Prayer is taking a chance that against all odds and past history, we are loved and chosen, and do not have to get it together before we show up. – Anne Lamott

I am grateful that I can go to God in prayer even when I don’t have it all together.

I am grateful for good news from a school guidance counselor this morning.

I am grateful for the reminder today from Sara Hagerty that living a life for God in private is a goal for which I should strive – not living for the applause of the larger social media audience and Facebook stories.

I am grateful for leftover rice. Every time I eat rice, I think of my friend Ginny. So for that, I am especially grateful for leftover rice.

 

I am grateful today for this poem that LaDonna shared. It made me think of Mom, and of my cousin Eileen, and of Uncle Cecil, and of Katherine, my Bingo friend, and of Ashley, a former St. George student, and of Uncle Fred, and of Aunt Naomi and Uncle Lloyde.

When I die
Give what’s left of me away
To children
And old men that wait to die.
And if you need to cry,
Cry for your brother
Walking the street beside you.
And when you need me,
Put your arms
Around anyone
And give them
What you need to give to me.

I want to leave you something,
Something better
Than words
Or sounds.

Look for me
In the people I’ve known
Or loved,
And if you cannot give me away,
At least let me live on in your eyes
And not on your mind.

You can love me most
By letting
Hands touch hands,
By letting
Bodies touch bodies,
And by letting go
Of children
That need to be free.

Love doesn’t die,
People do.
So, when all that’s left of me
Is love,
Give me away. – Merrit Malloy

 

I am grateful for social workers who have chosen one of the toughest careers in this world.

I am grateful for the renewed desire to write our story.

 

I am grateful for online banking.

I am grateful that I am not in charge of this crazy messed up world, and I am grateful that God does not call me to judge and decide what is right or wrong, but to love.

Which makes me grateful for this, from a writer I admire:

Rachel Held Evans Quote

Leave a comment