It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit. ― Harry S. Truman

 

“Be careful that you don’t practice your religion in front of people to draw their attention. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven. “Whenever you give to the poor, don’t blow your trumpet as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets so that they may get praise from people. I assure you, that’s the only reward they’ll get.But when you give to the poor, don’t let your left hand know what your right hand is doing so that you may give to the poor in secret. Your Father who sees what you do in secret will reward you. – Matthew 6:1-4 

Mom used to talk about this scripture quite often. I have been thinking about it lately when I’ve noticed someone tooting their horn on Facebook, and when I have observed personally those around me who are embarrassed if anyone notices their good deed, preferring to just do something nice for another person with no recognition.

Last night, my Dad and I were speaking with a woman who actually said, “I live for compliments.” And I suppose I have been that way, too, at times in my life. Probably more often than not, if I am honest with myself. It feels good to be acknowledged. It feels good to get a pat on the back, an “atta boy” or “you go, girl.” I need to work on this.

I admire and am grateful for those who prefer to serve in secret, living by Colossians 3:23-24.

Whatever you do, do it from the heart for the Lord and not for people. You know that you will receive an inheritance as a reward. You serve the Lord Christ. (CEB)

I am grateful for lunch with Sam today, and I am grateful for a very unexpected surprise of two free meals from my friends at Tortilla Ranch.

I am grateful for my email friendship with Linda.

I am grateful for beautiful weather.

I am grateful for tender moments of listening to Salvy talk to the announcers or watching Lorenzo’s smile as he jokes with a teammate, those tender moments when something so trivial can just make my heart burst with happiness.

I am also grateful for laughter with Sam. I love those times when we both just laugh and laugh and laugh.

I am grateful for our new friendship with Paul.

I am grateful that some of those life-long living lessons that Mom tried to teach me actually stuck and I continue to strive to live by them.

And I am grateful that our world is filled with really brilliant people who are pretty incredible and who have hearts to serve and wisdom to share.

 

Leave a Reply

