I got nuthin’.

 

You know those times when your brain world is swirling so much that the important work of detailing every. last. grateful. thing. goes by the wayside in order to make room for the swirling lists and appointments and work and agendas and meetings and phone calls and as the days go on, every. last. grateful. thing. becomes a blur and just another thing to cross off the list?

Yeah, I know those times, too.

So when I DO have moments that I could name something for which I am profoundly grateful, I instead close my eyes and try to think of nothing. I instead close my eyes and wish the swirling away. I instead close my eyes and think of a vacation to come. I instead close my eyes and sing in my head:

 

From the top of the swirl, this is all I can muster out of the grateful lobe of brain:

  • Time with family
  • Insight and stories from Ron and Pam
  • Natia’s snore
  • The sound of rain at 5 am
  • Understanding and acceptance
  • Being included in picture sharing of grandchildren
  • Always happy Sam when he calls
  • Hope for my CASA girl
  • Fresh-baked bread
  • Louene’s 101st birthday to celebrate tonight
  • 5-year-old Evens, our newest grandson, courtesy of Compassion International
  • Chick-Fil-A cows

 

Leave a Reply

