But I doh’ wanna.

 

If you know you have to swallow a frog, swallow it first thing in the morning. If there are two frogs, swallow the big one first. –Mark Twain

I am THE. WORLD’S. GREATEST. PROCRASTINATOR.  I have things to do, things that require actual work. Things that require actual brain. Things that require perspiration. Things that require actual brain, in case you bypassed that one.

Sometimes, the things that would be accomplished so easily if I were to just take a little action, end up becoming these massive icebergs in my mind and heart because they are HARD. Wah, wah, wah.

My boss loves to tell us to “swallow the big frog.” And she is right. Mark Twain was right.

My niece, Rachel, opened her fortune cookie on Monday night, and this is what it said:

Ugh. I hate it when I’m wrong and even the fortune in the little cookie is right.

So, I am grateful for wisdom via Mark Twain and boss and Rachel’s fortune and the multitude of scriptures about procrastination. Apparently, I am not the solo offender that God had to hammer the point home in His Word.

I am grateful that friends ask for help well in advance when our calendar is blank and it’s easy to say, “Sure, I’d LOVE to help!”, so that when the day arrives, it is not so easily dismissed with other busy-ness…er, laziness.

I am grateful that in the midst of serving, as Roxanne put it last night, God winks. The Holy Spirit nudges. Opportunities are endless to be kind, to serve others, to share grace and generosity.

I am grateful for the reminder from Dad this morning about the Johnson Family letter,  a medium-sized frog that just needed to be swallowed. Swallowed and done.

And I am grateful for Angela’s voicemail shortly before noon, after she swallowed a very large TOAD. And I quote, word for word in completion:

“Ribbit!      Ribbit!      Ribbit!”

Leave a Reply

