Bullwinkle, Elwood, and all their friends

imageimageimageimageimageimageimageI am grateful for free entry into Rocky Mountain National Park so that we could enjoy it three times in less than 24 hours.

I am grateful for a grocery store sub sandwich, a bag of Halo oranges, a bag of potato chips, and a package of Oreos to enjoy at our picnic for two in the park yesterday afternoon.

I am grateful for 75 degree weather with a slight breeze and a Rocky Mountain backdrop.

I am grateful for the safety of our vehicle, but also for the guts to get out and get close enough to see Mama Elwina and all of her friends and their children grazing all around us last night.

I am grateful that Sam likes to get up with the sun to go and search for more wildlife, rather than sleeping in on vacation and missing out on Enormous Elwood and the magnificent beauty at 12,000 feet.

I am grateful for ice cream that can be found just about everywhere, and I am grateful for late night ice cream walks with friends.

I am grateful for simple motels with just what is needed and nothing fancy.

I am grateful for less cell phone and Internet reception and kind of unplugging from the world.

I am grateful for kind strangers who are friendly right back.

I am grateful for a new piece of art that I am in love with and can’t wait to get it framed and hung, and I am grateful to have met an artist who made my new outfit that I will wear for our grateful breakfast.

I am grateful that this artist and her husband have invited us to their home this evening, all because Sam asked where we might find some aspen wood.

I am grateful for time spent with Julie again.

I am grateful for a very sore backside, because that means the four mile hike down Beaver Creek mountain was worthwhile for my muscles.

I am grateful for a babbling brook this morning, and “He leads me beside still waters, He restores my soul,” playing out in real life.

And I am grateful for the glorious peace and quiet of nature…

image

One thought on “Bullwinkle, Elwood, and all their friends

Leave a Reply

