Words kill, words give life…you choose. Proverbs 18:21

Image result for sticks and stones may break my bones

I am grateful for landscapers who know how to make flower beds beautiful and change with the seasons.

I am grateful for my pots and pans and my mixer.

I am grateful for people who know how to have private conversations and are conscious of their louder voices, separating themselves from public.

I am grateful that I have access to and am able to take a shower every day.

I am grateful for the way old hymns come into my thoughts.

“Fear not, I am with you, O be not dismayed,
for I am your God, and will still give you aid;
I’ll strengthen you, help you, and cause you to stand,
upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

I am grateful for inexpensive gigantic enormous humongoloid mums and grateful for Roxanne who told me where to buy them.

Image result for mum farm

 

I am grateful to be a CASA volunteer after wanting to be one for many years.

I am grateful for clean tea towels hanging in the kitchen.

Image result for vintage tea towels

 

I am grateful for the ability to get away in the middle of the day and take a break.

I am grateful for a level head.

I am grateful for paper plates and bowls but I am also grateful that I don’t depend on them every day and have nice plates and bowls from which to eat.

I am grateful for moments when my back is not aching.

 

I’m so glad I learned to trust Him,
Precious Jesus, Savior, friend;
And I know that He is with me,
Will be with me to the end.

Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him!
How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er!
Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus!
O for grace to trust Him more!

 

I am grateful for soft socks.

I am grateful for ideas my boss gives to me for gift-giving.

I am grateful for a freezer cleaned out.

I am grateful for a beautiful email that Sam sent to me this morning, the longest one he’s ever sent to me. Men, words matter. Written words matter. Spoken words matter, too.

Image result for words matter

 

I am grateful for Mary’s pasta e fagioli that she shared with me.

I am grateful to have been invited to a birthday party tomorrow evening.

I am grateful for the anticipation of grandchildren filling our house with noise and fingerprints.

I am grateful that the words that once stung and hurt me deeply are beginning to fade.

I am grateful for the moments when they are front and center, causing me to relive and remember, re-hurt and re-sting, so that I never repeat what was done to me.

And the things on earth will grow strangely dim, in the light of His glory and grace.

Leave a Reply

