When my heart is overwhelmed…

…lead me to the Rock that is higher than I. – Psalm 61:2

Image result for messy desk

Life is like a messy desk right now. Everything is right there at our fingertips; we’re just having a hard time making sense of the piles and figuring out which pile to tackle first.

Life is like a Martha Stewart garden right now. There are so many beautiful things, but there are so many, we tend to overlook each individual beautiful thing and neglect to appreciate the individual loveliness.

Image result for martha stewart garden

Life right now is like a really great buffet, the buffet that has multiple buffets with an ice cream station that includes lots of toppings from which to choose and a chef at the end of one of the lines with a big carving knife and other chefs preparing your omelet any way you so desire and bread in the form of fresh hot rolls with honey butter brought to your table and vegetables you actually WANT to eat and fried chicken piled high so that you don’t have to search for the breast piece…and it’s so overwhelming, I choose mashed potatoes, green beans, and a slice of roast beef and then I don’t return for more. I stick with the familiar and load up on the hot rolls that were placed in front of me.

Image result for buffet

The weekend was a blur.

Between my brother’s visit and rescue help with our investment property, heaven-sent time with Elaine and sharing every possible thing in such a short time to catch up on the last 15 years, a visit from Cindy and Keith and much-needed laughter and fun and familiar, and the extra stresses of life these days, I am overwhelmed. I don’t know which way is up, who’s on first, when it’s due, what I overlooked, and what comes next.

So, today, I am just grateful for a messy desk full of possibilities and opportunities and busyness so that I don’t get bogged down in TV watching and boredom and feeling sorry for myself-ness.

And I am just grateful for a Garden of Eden all around me, a garden of friends who are as different as the flowerbeds of Stewartville, friends that give me hope and happiness and encourage me and allow me to listen to their stories and when I see them, they are like a bouquet of beautiful.

Image result for maraboli quote about gratitude

And I am just grateful for buffets of issues and problems that add spice, and buffets of dull, same ‘ol same ‘ol fare that allow me to breathe and sit in what is comfortable and rut-like, if only for a few moments…and buffets that include some surprising “wow factor” that make me want to go back for more.

But just so you know:

salad

Leave a Reply

