Listen & silent are spelled with the same letters. Think about it.

Image result for listen quotes

 

I had lunch with a friend today. This is a friend who is always smiling, always pleasant, always so warm and engaging.

I had no idea.

I talked and talked and talked about life these days and filled her in since it had been awhile. And when I was unloaded, I asked, “So. How are YOU?”

I had no idea.

Behind the smile, behind the warm and engaging, there is pain and anguish.

It was a reminder to me that even though I sometimes bare my soul to the world and leave nothing left to the imagination in my writing and in my unloading…

I need to listen.

I need to inquire.

I need to stop talking and observe.

Because not everyone bares their soul to the world, and behind every smile, behind every “I’m fine,” there is a story that is worth telling.

Image result for laura story quote

I am so very grateful for this friend who models for me a positive outlook.

I am so grateful that she chose ME to befriend.

I am so grateful for the opportunity to try again.

Image result for listen quotes

I am grateful for the sound of a thumping tail, happy to see me.

I am grateful for the sound of my husband, first thing in the morning, after he’s had a restful night’s sleep and calls me to say, “Well, hello there, darlin’” in his drawl and smiling, playful voice.

I am grateful for the sound I make on the keyboard when ideas are flying through my brain and I can’t get them out of my fingers fast enough.

I am grateful for the sound of leaves crunch underfoot and leaves scattering in the breeze.

I am grateful for the sound that babies make when they are sleeping deep.

I am grateful for the sound of a friend who felt safe enough to confide in me…

Because I had no idea.

Image result for listen quotes

Leave a Reply

